Highlighted
3 2 0 0
Message 1 of 5
Flag Post

HP pavilion desktop 400-434 power issue

HP Recommended
HP pavilion desktop 400-434
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)
Hi my HP pavilion desktop 400-434 will occasionally just power off and won't start back up until I've left it unplugged for a significant amount of time. Talking hours here. I've tried all the available troubleshooting steps and replaced the power supply and nothing has changed. As a sysadmin I've never see this before. Tried narrowing down components plugged into the motherboard and nothing brings it back unless its simply unplugged for hours. Any ideas out there?
4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Level 12
11,043 11,017 577 1,659
Message 2 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended

@JesseTheJames wrote:
My HP pavilion desktop 400-434 will occasionally just power off and won't start back up until I've left it unplugged for a significant amount of time. Talking hours here.
Nothing brings it back unless it's simply unplugged for hours.

My guess is "overheating" has caused the motherboard to shut-down the computer, to prevent permanent damage.

Letting it cool-down for a few hours seems to be a good idea.

Google-search for "download free SPECCY".

Download, install, and run SPECCY, to get it to report:

* temperature of the motherboard,

* temperature of the processor,

* temperature of the disk-drive

Run SPECCY when the computer is "cold", to get "baseline" numbers.

Run it every 20 minutes, to see how the numbers change, as you use the computer.

Highlighted
Author
3 2 0 0
Message 3 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended
Didn't even cross my mind it could be a heat issue. These slimlines dont have a lot inside when it comes to cooling. Thank you so much, I'll definitely try that and post and update.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Author
3 2 0 0
Message 4 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended