• post a message
Highlighted
3 2 0 0
Message 1 of 7
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Laptop reboots when unplugged.

Hp Envy x360 m6-w103dx

About a month ago my laptop started turning itself off when unplugged and rebooting in order to turn on. When it's plugged in it loads fine and functions as normal. I have checked the settings for power and I have it set to go into sleep mood while plugged in and unplugged. When it reboots it is kind of slow and will ask me to press a key to stop disk check. So, my question is has anyone had this issue before and how were you able to fix it? I am a student and it's really inconveniet.  Also, it has done this before but kind of just fixed on it's own. 

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Level 8
1,017 985 31 90
Message 2 of 7
Flag Post
HP Recommended

@belle313 wrote:

About a month ago my laptop started turning itself off when unplugged and rebooting in order to turn on. When it's plugged in it loads fine and functions as normal. I have checked the settings for power and I have it set to go into sleep mood while plugged in and unplugged. When it reboots it is kind of slow and will ask me to press a key to stop disk check. So, my question is has anyone had this issue before and how were you able to fix it? I am a student and it's really inconveniet.  Also, it has done this before but kind of just fixed on it's own. 

The checkdisk is because the sudden loss of power is bad for the hard drive and the filesystem.

You should let it finish.

I don't understand what "rebooting in order to turn it on" means.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
3 2 0 0
Message 3 of 7
Flag Post
HP Recommended

The check disk is no longer there when it reboots. I didn't mean to type "reboot in order to turn on." I just meant that it reboots.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Level 8
1,017 985 31 90
Message 4 of 7
Flag Post
HP Recommended

It would be a good idea to run Hardware Test on the PC.  https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c03467259

0 Kudos
Highlighted
3 2 0 0
Message 5 of 7
Flag Post