Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Any failures related to Hotkey UWP service? Click here for tips.
HP Recommended
Hp Pavillion Gaming Desktop 690-0073w
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hi, I have never worked on the internals of computers before so I need some help. I'm planning on upgrading my desktop with a Western Digital 2tb 3.5" hard drive and I was wondering if I need to purchase mounting screws and a sata power/data cable (or do both of these come included inside the desktop?) Also do I need a mounting bracket or is that included inside the desktop?

Thanks for any responses.

3 REPLIES 3
HP Recommended

@BeardedChewbacc,

Welcome to the HP Support Community!

I reviewed your post and I understand that you want to know whether you need to buy mounting screws and cable to install a new hard drive on the computer.

Don’t worry, I assure you I will try my best to get this sorted.

Are you planning to add a second hard drive on the computer? If yes, then you need to buy the cable and the screws.

Please refer to the below link for more information on upgrading the hard drive.

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c05934592

I hope that answers your question and you have a great day!

If you wish to show appreciation for my efforts, mark my post as Accept as Solution. Your feedback counts!

Cheers!

The_Fossette
I am an HP Employee

HP Recommended