Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎04-20-2017
Message 1 of 9 (145 Views)
Accepted Solution

Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

[ Edited ]
Product Name: HP machine T6 series - P6-2008
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 (32-bit)

 Men,

  Do we miss something?
  The customer had a GT 520 from one
  HP machine T6 series - P6-2008NL

 

Customer purchases the:

00953762 VGA Asus GeForce GT730-SL-2GD3-BRK

  In my opinion this should work just but customer only gets 2 beeps.

Is it just the picky HP or is it something different?

 

[Personal Information Removed]

Reply
0
Accepted Solution

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

Well a good place to look for old equipment is EBay.

GeForce 520 or GeForce 530 - seem to be many choices

View solution in context
Dean
Posts: 7,649
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 2 of 9 (120 Views)

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

@Lot1,

The p6 series were shipped with WIN 7.  That is what is commonly called "Legacy" or BIOS boot environment.  The GT730 is a UEFI based BIOS.  The card will never be compatible with a Legacy BIOS.

This system is feedback driven thru Solution and Kudo flags. It's the only means of knowing if you have been served.
Please click Accept as Solution, if your problem is solved. To say THANK YOU, press the "thumbs up symbol" to render a KUDO. You can render both Solution and KUDO..

Loaner: Envy Omen Windows 10 Pro 64 bit 4th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700HQ + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M 8GB Discrete Graphics (16GB RAM) 512GB m.2 SSD
HP Envy 8 5010 Tablet
(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t E8400,Win7 Pro, 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD
Custom Asus Z97D, I7-4790k, 16GB RAM, WIN7 Pro 64bit, ZOTAC GTX1080 8GB, 500GB HD SSD, Rosewill Blackhawk case and OCZ 750W.
Printer -- HP OfficeJet Pro 8620
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎04-20-2017
Message 3 of 9 (112 Views)

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

OKej Thnxs i wil bring it back.

Wat card do you advice?

Dean
Posts: 7,548
Member Since: ‎12-31-2008
Message 4 of 9 (108 Views)

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

That unit has a H-CUPERTINO2-H61-uA TX (Cupertino2) motherboard.  It is known to be non-cooperating with many of the newer cards.  Here is a thread with some info and what might work with the GeForce GT730

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Desktop-Hardware-and-Upgrade-Questions/HP-P6-2000ukm-GPU-and-Motherboar...

{---------- Please click the "Thumbs Up" to say thanks for helping.
Please click "Accept As Solution" if my help has solved your problem. ----------}

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I do not work for HP.
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎04-20-2017
Message 5 of 9 (103 Views)

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

is there anny card that is for sale? 

updating the bios for a flash gpu driver wil not work. it is noproblem to bring the card back.

i yust want to know wat card i can buy?

thnxs for your time

 

Dean
Posts: 7,548
Member Since: ‎12-31-2008
Message 6 of 9 (85 Views)

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

That line came with Nvidia  GeForce 5** line of cards as an option or Radeon HD 7450 (1 GB) & Radeon HD 7350 (512 MB)

Other than those, anything else will be a trial and error process.

As @wb2001 says - you need a card compatible with a Legacy BIOS.  Which means an older PCIex16.  Also watch the power supply rating.

If you are in the repair business, trial and error with older stock.  Please report back with success story, as many are in the same boat.

{---------- Please click the "Thumbs Up" to say thanks for helping.
Please click "Accept As Solution" if my help has solved your problem. ----------}

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I do not work for HP.
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎04-20-2017
Message 7 of 9 (69 Views)

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

[ Edited ]

I am the owner from the old desktop i just copied and pasted from a Email i gained in the start of this conversation.

 

Thnx for the information... do you know where to buy a  geforce 520 card?

Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎04-20-2017
Message 8 of 9 (62 Views)

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

michael schul: mine quistiun is wat card can i buy?
michael schul: is there a card?
michael schul: to replace the gt520?
michael schul: i have send you a part of a e mail and a part of a HP forum
Prakash: Let me check it first
Prakash: Give me a moment
Prakash: Thank you for your patience.
michael schul: noproblem
Prakash: Kindly help me with system information:

To obtain a System Information file (NFO):
1. On the keyboard, hold down the WINDOWS key and then hit R.
2. In the Run window, type MSINFO32 and then click OK.
3. In the System Information window, click the File menu and then Save.
4. Set the desired folder to save to, enter a file name, and then click Save.
File attachment upload has started.
The file Sytem info.nfo (1396.27KB) was received.
michael schul: there you go
Prakash: Thank you
Prakash: Let me check.
michael schul: ok
Prakash: I am checking its specification
Prakash: Kindly stay connected.
michael schul: okej
michael schul: take your time
Prakash: Also may I know what power supply are you using in watts/
michael schul: the basic
michael schul: it was low
michael schul: i tink around 450
michael schul: i cannot watch now
Prakash: Thank you.
Prakash: Thank you for your patience.
michael schul: no problem
Prakash: Your motherboard has following Expansion Slots:
• 1 PCI Express x16
• 3 PCI Express x1
• 1 PCI Express Mini Card x1
michael schul: yes i tink thats right
Prakash: Are you looking graphics card for placing games or professional use?
michael schul: i am playing word of tanks
michael schul: world
michael schul: and i am using it for Autocad 2015
michael schul: revit 2015
michael schul: technical drawing program
Prakash: Great, let me inform you that we have two technologies and its completely differ each other. One is Geforce and other one is Quadro cards.
Prakash: Geforce is manily for game, but still you can run few software
Prakash: And Quadro is mainly for professional software.
michael schul: revit drawing is 3d drawing i need a good card for it
Prakash: Let me check its supported GPU's
michael schul: thnxs
Prakash: You are welcome.
Prakash: Thank you for your patience.
Prakash: As I checked these are the graphics card recommended by Autodesk for revit 2015:

NVIDIA Quadro M1000M Maxwell 2048 Mobile NVIDIA
NVIDIA Quadro M2000M Maxwell 4096 Mobile NVIDIA
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M Maxwell 4096 Mobile NVIDIA
NVIDIA Quadro M4000 Maxwell 8192 Workstation NVIDIA
NVIDIA Quadro M4000M Maxwell 4096 Mobile NVIDIA
NVIDIA Quadro M5000M Maxwell 8192 Mobile NVIDIA
Prakash: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?siteID=123112&id=18844534&results=1&stype=graphic&produ...
Prakash: Let me know the Operating System (Windows XP/ Vista/ 7 / 8/ 10 ) with the version (32 or 64 bit).
michael schul: 10 and 32
Prakash: Okay, I think the software contains more work on 3D, so that's might be the reason they are suggesting quadro cards.
michael schul: ok
Prakash: Give me a moment
Prakash: From above list, apart from NVIDIA Quadro M4000 , all other cards are laptop graphic cards. As I checked Quadro M4000 specs, it consumes 120 W.
Prakash: So you can install it on your computer.
michael schul: sow the ownley option is the m4000?
Prakash: Yes, since you are depending on specific application, the suggesting you this card as it confirmed by Autodesk Revit 2015
michael schul: okej and it wil be no problem whit the hp desktop?
Prakash: No, you can install it. For your clarification I kindly request you to contact HP and confirm this graphics card is supported on their motherboard.
Prakash: But as per the specification, you can install the graphics card.
Prakash: Also as I checked the Autocad 2015 specification, they were mentioned only few of workstations supported on this software.
Prakash: So before buying a new graphics card, contact autodesk and check the Quadro M4000 would work with both Autodesk revit and Autocad.
Prakash: *2015

 

Dean
Posts: 7,548
Member Since: ‎12-31-2008
Message 9 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Help me on a new Gpu for a old desktop

Well a good place to look for old equipment is EBay.

GeForce 520 or GeForce 530 - seem to be many choices

{---------- Please click the "Thumbs Up" to say thanks for helping.
Please click "Accept As Solution" if my help has solved your problem. ----------}

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I do not work for HP.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation