Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-20-2017
Message 1 of 6 (110 Views)

Just moved to South Korea and am wondering if I need a new cord or adaptor

Product Name: HP Envy Phoenix 860-019
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

As the title says I just moved to South Korea. I am wondering where I can get a 220 v power supply for my device and if this is all I need to do.

Reply
0
Provost
Posts: 84,085
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 2 of 6 (97 Views)

Re: Just moved to South Korea and am wondering if I need a new cord or adaptor

Hi:

 

According to the specs, the power supply range is 100-240V

 

http://support.hp.com/us-en/product/HP-ENVY-Phoenix-860-Desktop-PC-series/8499708/model/8680786/docu...

 

There should be a little (normally red) switch on the power supply near where it plugs in, that you flip from 120V to 240V.

 

You may need a small screwdriver to flip the switch.

 

Then you would need to buy the applicable power cord that fits in a wall socket for Korea, that I assume you can purchase locally at a PC repair shop.

Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-20-2017
Message 3 of 6 (91 Views)

Re: Just moved to South Korea and am wondering if I need a new cord or adaptor

Thanks for the info. There is no visable switch on the back. It may be covered by a plate. I just don't know what to unscrew to open the back. If you know i would be super greatful thanks!

Provost
Posts: 84,085
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 4 of 6 (82 Views)

Re: Just moved to South Korea and am wondering if I need a new cord or adaptor

You're very welcome.

 

It may be possible that the switch is automatic.

 

On some power supplies there are no switches to flip.

 

I'm looking at some of my HP desktops I have, and lo and behold, none of them have the 110-220 flip switch either.

 

And they are also 100-220V.

 

So, I would have to say under those circumstances, all you would need is the right power cord.

 

You may want to call HP technical support and double check though.

Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-20-2017
Message 5 of 6 (79 Views)

Re: Just moved to South Korea and am wondering if I need a new cord or adaptor

Thank you for your help. I tried contacting support first, but the guy said take it to a local HP store, which is very difficult to do for me. I asked him if they had cords for purchase online and he said no. I think i do just need a cord because at the daughter end of my power cord it says 125V and 10A and 1250W. Do you know where I would be able to buy a cord? Do you think any PC shop would sell them. Again I really appreciate your help!

Highlighted
Provost
Posts: 84,085
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 6 of 6 (66 Views)

Re: Just moved to South Korea and am wondering if I need a new cord or adaptor

Yes, I think the power supply switch is automatic, because I have a spare, newer 100v-240v power supply, and checked it out from stem to stern, and there are no switches.

 

I have another older PC, and that power supply does have a 110v - 220v switch.

 

Power cord...yes, I am pretty sure you need a new one rated for 220V that has the correct prong configuration.

 

They are standard, so I would think you should have no problem getting one from a local PC shop or hardware store.

 

The end that plugs into the PC is the same on all of them.

 

Take your current cord with you when you go shopping.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation