Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Any failures related to Hotkey UWP service? Click here for tips.
HP Recommended
Omen 30L
Microsoft Windows 10 (32-bit)

+

Hi Guys, I'm looking at upgrading my current 500GB SSD on my Omen30L - product code (2L3B1EA#ABU) and wondered if I could get some recommendations for 1TB? 

I'm a bit of a novice so hopefully its just a case of swapping the old for the new. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

Thank you for the additional information, @NathanJ88!

@NathanJ88 wrote:

Thanks for getting back to me. I have just entered the product code and it brought up the correct model - 

OMEN Desktop PC 30L GT13-0000i (236B0AV)

from inspecting the manuals I can see that it is a Dorado OC motherboard - with the OC having two, does this mean I can have 2 x separate SSD cards? 

Yes, that is exactly what that means.  You will have to buy a M.2 socket 3, key M (for SSD card PCIe x4 Gen 3).  I like Samsung M.2's.  They seem to work better with the HP BIOS/UEFI.  I have a Samsung 970 Pro.  It works great.  You can clone the 500 GB M.2 to the new 1 TB M.2 using Samsung Data Migration software.

Please click the Thumbs up + button if I have helped you and click Accept as Solution if your problem is solved.

I am not an HP Employee!!
Intelligence is God given. Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!!

View solution in original post