HP ENVY bios update A0.57 Rev.A does nothing

HP Recommended
HP ENVY Phoenix Desktop - 860-180st
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hi all, I'm hoping someone can help.

I am wanting to update the bios for my 

HP ENVY Phoenix Desktop - 860-180st

Current bios ver: A0.08 11/12/2015

The support page lists 2 bios updates.  The one that matches my motherboard is: A0.57 Rev.A.

I downloaded, and ran the bios update sp81781.exe

It decompresses the files, and starts the update in a command prompt window.  Then the window goes away and nothing ever is updated.

I am a developer by trade, so I tinkered with the flash.bat file to echo some settings and pause so I can see what the heck might be wrong.

The only thing I can tell is it should be executing THIA057L.exe because my bios version is less than 11.  But it doesn't do anything.  I tried executing this manually but nothing happens.

I do get an ErrorLevel of 256, but the bat file doesn't even check for that number and I have no idea what it means.

Has anyone successfully done this update and/or know what my issue might be?

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
Jeet_singh
Retired
Retired
21,068 21,032 1,399 2,364
Message 2 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended

@Zato1,

Thanks for engaging in HP support Forums! This is a wonderful location to converse with the community, get assistance and find tips! I understand you are having issues performing bios update on your HP Desktop PC. Don't worry as I have a few suggestions which should help you resolve this issue.

Let's start off by performing a Hard reset on the PC: 

Many startup errors and other problems can be resolved by decreasing the amount of power stored in hardware components. Decreasing stored power is sometimes referred to as a "Hard Reset". Use the following steps to perform a hard reset on a computer:

1. If Windows is open, click Start and then Shutdown.

If Windows is not open and the computer has power, press and hold the power button on the computer until the computer shuts off.