Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-04-2009
Message 1 of 23 (39,233 Views)
Accepted Solution

Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

I have an HP Pavilion model p6230y product NY549AA-ABA with an Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module and I can not get the network card to connect to my 5ghz band of my dual n cisco e3000 router. I will connect to the 2.4 ghz but not the 5ghz. The router is brodcasting on channel 161 for 5 ghz and channel 9 for 2.4 ghz. The driver for the network card is 8.0.0.376 and dated 11/23/2010. Is anyone else having this problem and has anyone been able to solve it.

0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module - failures after June 2012 driver update

I updated to the June 2012 version of the driver from the November 2010 version, and had problems connecting wirelessly.  (100% failures).

 

A cable worked fine.

 

I rolled back the driver, and it worked fine.

 

I have Win 7 64bit on an HP Pavillion with the subject wireless card - connecting with basic  open WEP

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 25,870
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 23 (39,212 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Hi,

 

  1. Be sure that you are using WPA2 for encryption. (needed for "n" band).
  2. Look here for a later level driver.
  3. Download Vistumbler and scan your network AP to determine what channel is being used.

 

Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎06-21-2011
Message 3 of 23 (39,073 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

[ Edited ]

I'm having this same issue.

 

I purchased an HP p6230y at Best Buy a year or 2 ago and just recently purchased a Netgear N750 dual band router.  My Xoom and iPad2 both see and connect to the 5ghz network but my desktop does not.  I setup WPA2 on the 5ghz band but the desktop still isn't seeing it.  My driver version for the Atheros card (a/b/g/n dualband module) is 8.0.0.376, which from what I've seen on the web, is the latest driver.   It's currently connected to the 2.4ghz band without issues.

 

Any idea how I can make this work other than buying a new wifi card?  One other note, for some reason, the Properties button in my Wireless Network Connection is disabled/greyed out.  Any idea how to enable it? 

 

Thanks in advance,

Matt

Provost
Posts: 84,834
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 4 of 23 (39,068 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Provost
Posts: 25,870
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 5 of 23 (39,060 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Paul,

 

Isn't that Atheros driver that you referenced just for notebooks?

Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎06-21-2011
Message 6 of 23 (39,057 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

I tried it (anyways) but it wouldn't install.  States:

 

"Windows found driver software for your device but encountered an error while attempting to install it.

 

Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Network Module.

 

There is no driver selected for the device information set or element."

Provost
Posts: 84,834
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 7 of 23 (39,053 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

[ Edited ]

Hi:

 

Sorry that didn't work. Yes, it is for notebooks but sometimes they put those same cards in desktops when they have mini-pci slots. I should have looked at the system specs and I see that the card is a PCIe x1 card

 

If you want, you can still try manually installing the driver by clicking on your Atheros wireless card in the device manager, clicking on the driver tab and then click "update driver. Select the browse for software option and browse to the extracted folder that was created in C:\ SWSETUP\sp52131.

 

You might get it to install that way.

 

Paul

Provost
Posts: 84,834
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 8 of 23 (39,050 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Do me a favor and click on the device in the device manager. Then click on the details tab. In the Properties drop down list, select the second item (Hardware ID's).

 

Post the top string of characters you see there.  Those will identify the model of the card.

 

If I know what Atheros chip it has, maybe we can find a newer driver for it if my method above doesn't work to update the driver.

 

Paul

Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎06-21-2011
Message 9 of 23 (39,041 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

I tried to manually install it, no go (error above received again).

 

Here's the string:

 

PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_002A&SUBSYS_1000168&REV_01

 

Thanks again,

Matt

Provost
Posts: 25,870
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 10 of 23 (39,037 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Atheros AR5B91 Wireless Network Adapter according to the information that you provided.

 

I believe PC Wizard will also show that adapter model.

 

Atheros 9.2.0.113 is the latest driver post at the link I referenced above.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation