Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎06-11-2010
Message 1 of 5 (3,734 Views)

Cossacks 2 - battle for Europe video error on loading

When I try to run the game , I get the following error. "Engine.exe has detected that video memory is not configured correctly. Set AGP aperture size = 256 mb or more"

 

I am using an HP P6227 (intel core i7 cpu 860@2.80GHz) with 6 gig of RAM running Windows 7 home premium

Graphics card is an NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 with driver version 8.15.11.8627.  26 June 2009 which is up to date

total available graphics memory 3835mb

Dedicated video memory 1024mb

System video memory 0mb

Shared system memory 2811mb

 

I have been unable to find a setting to change for AGP aperture size in BIOS (F10).

Can anyone suggest how I may do this, or have any other suggestions as to how I can get the game to run?

 

Many thanks

 

altheogre

.

0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 26,545
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 5 (3,725 Views)

Re: Cossacks 2 - battle for Europe video error on loading

[ Edited ]

Your video card driver is a year out of date so you might try an update. NVIDIA updates. Or, try the video driver off the HP site which is older than the NVIDIA site but it's certified by HP.

 

If the message shows up again then you need an application update. Or, right mouse click on the application exe, then properties then the compatibility tab and try some different compatibility modes.

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎06-11-2010
Message 3 of 5 (3,687 Views)

Re: Cossacks 2 - battle for Europe video error on loading

Thanks,

 

I've updated the driver from the NVIDIA site and tried NT, 2000, XP and Vista compatibility modes, but still get the same message. The error report also shows "upload.dll_unloaded". I guess it's just incompatible.

Provost
Posts: 26,545
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 5 (3,677 Views)

Re: Cossacks 2 - battle for Europe video error on loading

Check with the game manufacturer for an update or newer version.

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 5 of 5 (1,528 Views)

Re: Cossacks 2 - battle for Europe video error on loading


altheogre wrote:

When I try to run the game , I get the following error. "Engine.exe has detected that video memory is not configured correctly. Set AGP aperture size = 256 mb or more"

 

I am using an HP P6227 (intel core i7 cpu 860@2.80GHz) with 6 gig of RAM running Windows 7 home premium

Graphics card is an NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 with driver version 8.15.11.8627.  26 June 2009 which is up to date

total available graphics memory 3835mb

Dedicated video memory 1024mb

System video memory 0mb

Shared system memory 2811mb

 

I have been unable to find a setting to change for AGP aperture size in BIOS (F10).

Can anyone suggest how I may do this, or have any other suggestions as to how I can get the game to run?

 

Many thanks

 

altheogre

.



altheogre wrote:

When I try to run the game , I get the following error. "Engine.exe has detected that video memory is not configured correctly. Set AGP aperture size = 256 mb or more"

 

I am using an HP P6227 (intel core i7 cpu 860@2.80GHz) with 6 gig of RAM running Windows 7 home premium

Graphics card is an NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 with driver version 8.15.11.8627.  26 June 2009 which is up to date

total available graphics memory 3835mb

Dedicated video memory 1024mb

System video memory 0mb

Shared system memory 2811mb

 

I have been unable to find a setting to change for AGP aperture size in BIOS (F10).

Can anyone suggest how I may do this, or have any other suggestions as to how I can get the game to run?

 

Many thanks

 

altheogre

.




† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation