cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
Highlighted
Level 1
1 0 0 3
Message 1 of 28
Flag Post
HP Recommended

HP Pavilion a6042n won't boot past Blue HP invent screen

I am not a techie and I have never relaced a drive or anything.  But any help would be greatly appreciated.  When I turn on my HP Pavilion a Blue Screen comes up and just sits there.  It says"HP invent" in the middle, then along the bottom it says "Esc= Boot, F10= System Setup, F11= System Recovery".  After many, many times of turning the computer off with the shut off button and back on and hitting Escape rapidly, I was able to boot up from the bootup screen, I guess is what you call it.  It took a long time to come up.  Computer works fine in that mode.

I ran my Anti Virus, my Ad aware, deleted cookies, temp files, defraged the disk and even restored to a few days ago before this happened.  I then restarted my computer and I am back to the same blue screen and once again it took forever to boot up.

I was not having any issues with the computer before this happened.  Any ideas?  And if it is in layman's terms, that would be best.

Thanks so much!

T in Nevada

27 REPLIES 27
Highlighted
2 2 0 0
Message 2 of 28
Flag Post
HP Recommended

I have the same problem. I get a red code saying BIOHD-2 in red color. tells me to turn off system, check to see if cables are sururely attached. IN set up, computer reconizes dve/cd drive but says no drive installed for my HD. Hard Drive problem it seems. My computer is only 4months old and bought it from Cir City, which all stores are now closed!

Also I get Boot Disk Failure, insert system disk and press enter. I do not have a system disk. Never came with computer.

I don't want to open computer to check cables on HD. What to do??

0 Kudos