Note on archived topics.

This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
dharliquinn Honor Student
Honor Student
3 0 0
Message 1 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended

HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC upgrade assistance

Hello all,

I currently have a dilemma. I currently have an HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC that I use for recording music. I use the computer program Pro tools 8, but I am trying to make my machine efficient enough to handle the newest version of Protools.  Now it doesn’t do badly, but for the amount of music I am currently doing I need it to function at an optimal level hence I am interested in doing some upgrades. I am new at trying to upgrade computers because usually when they become obsolete I scrap them to get another model, but my music partner told me it may be more cost efficient simply to upgrade my machine. So my questions are what component can I upgrade without having to buy a new computer case. Would I be able to change the motherboard so I can have a faster processor and store more memory? What kind of power supply can fit in my model of HP? Any suggestions would be very helpful. Below are my computer specs, thank you ahead of time.

HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC

Motherboard: MCP61PM-HM (Nettle3)

Processor: Phenom X4 9150e

Memory: 4gb

Hard drive: 500 gb

Power Supply 300W

Windows Vista

4 REPLIES
Dean Dean
Dean
6931 719 2748
Message 2 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Here is the link that has the specifications of your system:

http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c01612528

Memory: Supports upto 8 GB of PC2-6400

Power Supply: Comes with a standard 300W power supply.  You can upgrade it to any standard power supply with the same dimensions. I would suggest not to go beyond 450W.