Note on archived topics.

This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
Vovski Honor Student
Honor Student
3 0 0
Message 1 of 7
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Help... How to add ssd to Pavillion 550-153na

pavillion 550-153na
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hi Guys and Gals

I'm hoping someone on here can help me.

I have a HP Pavillion 550-153na ,Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 CPU @ 2.70GHz

I want to add an SSD to it, but being a complete newbie i want to ask for advice before i go and destroy it

Doing a quick read up on Google it says i need a spare SATA port, but looking at my motherboard i dont seem to have a spare one, as there is an Optical drive and HDD connected to the 2 available SATA ports. Do i need to buy a splitter or what is the workaround ?

The desktop specs are

Motherboard - 2B47 1.04

System BIOS - A0.10

If you require any further specs or details please let me know

Your help is greatly appreciated, thank you in advance

0 Kudos
6 REPLIES
Retired
Retired
7771 449 840
Message 2 of 7
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hi there @Vovski,

May the Forums be with you!  It is a great place to find the help you need, from other users, HP experts, and other support personnel.  I understand that you are looking for options on adding an SSD to your system but all the SATA connections are used.  I am happy to help with this.

Looking at the HP and Compaq Desktop PCs - motherboard specifications, Odense, it shows that you also have the following expansion slots:

•One PCI Express x16 (Gen 3.0)

•One PCI Express x1 (Gen 2.0)

•One M.2 socket 1, key A

You could possibly look at getting an expansion card that provides additional SATA connections using one of those ports, assuming that they are not already all used. For an idea of what is available, try a Google search for "PCI Express x1 SATA card, as a place to start.