Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Message 1 of 6 (34,317 Views)

How do I reset my PC to factory settings

How do I reset my PC to factory installed settings?

0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 64,203
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 2 of 6 (34,315 Views)

Re: How do I reset my PC to factory settings


thebos123 wrote:

How do I reset my PC to factory installed settings?


Hi,

 

This short video may help:

 

   http://www.ehow.com/video_4950884_restore-hp-computer-factory-settings.html

 

Regards,

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-20-2013
Message 3 of 6 (31,373 Views)

Re: How do I reset my PC to factory settings

you hold Shift and hot Restart (at the same time) till a sreen says troubleshoot and ht reset and then hit clean install 

Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎05-07-2013
Message 4 of 6 (30,305 Views)

Re: How do I reset my PC ..

 probook 4515s ' it,s work very slow ..how to reset or make it fast ...

Professor
Posts: 2,472
Member Since: ‎02-19-2013
Message 5 of 6 (30,295 Views)

Re: How do I reset my PC to factory settings

Hello itstwik,

 

I see that you are having problems with your computer being slow.

 

What operating system are you using? Do you have recovery discs?

 

Here is a link to instructions on how to do a clean boot. This may help with the computer speed without doing a reset.

Signature
↙-----------How do I give Kudos?| How do I mark a post as Solved? ----------------↓


Provost
Posts: 8,143
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 6 of 6 (30,288 Views)

Re: How do I reset my PC ..

[ Edited ]

itstwik,

In order to assist you properly on speeding up your Probook 4515s series notebook you need to answer fundamantal questions. What is the exact OS version?  XP, Vista, WIN 7. Is it 32 or 64 bit?  32 bit allows 4GB max (two 2GB modules). 64 bit allows 8GB (two 4 GB modules).

 

Your premise suggest a reset to original specs offered a speed ratio you enjoyed.

Actually the real question and remedy is to remove the bloat (added background software), or add RAM to the motherboard. Adding RAM is the better choice. It does involve internal components. Warning, it can be either DDR2 or DDR3 modules. Either you or a shop.(See previous about DDR2 or DDR3).

 

The Vista version was supposed to be configured with a 32Bit OS, and DDR2 RAM.

 

The WIN7 version came with only a marginal 2 GB of RAM installed. Of that RAM, 896MB (nearly 45% of the installed 2 GB) can be allocated to the graphics card. That leaves little processing RAM.

This system is feedback driven thru Solution and Kudo flags. It's the only means of knowing if you have been served.
Please click Accept as Solution, if your problem is solved. To say THANK YOU, press the "thumbs up symbol" to render a KUDO. You can render both Solution and KUDO..

Loaner: Envy Omen Windows 10 Pro 64 bit 4th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700HQ + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M 8GB Discrete Graphics (16GB RAM) 512GB m.2 SSD
HP Envy 8 5010 Tablet
(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t E8400,Win7 Pro, 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD
Custom Asus Z97D, I7-4790k, 16GB RAM, WIN10 Pro 64bit, ZOTAC GTX1080 8GB, 500GB HD SSD, Asus PB287 4k monitor, Rosewill Blackhawk case and OCZ 750W.
Printer -- HP OfficeJet Pro 8620
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation