Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-18-2014
Message 1 of 10 (898 Views)

Lightscribe

[ Edited ]

Here's the background. I have a stand alone CD/DVD duplicator that has 8 Optiarc DVD RW AD-7261S 1.03 LightScribe enabled drives (it's labeled 200+ disks). To use the LightScribe function, I create a LightScribe image on my desktop (doesn't have a LightScribe CD/DVD) using the LightScribe Labeler software. I then burn the LightScribe image file to a blank disk. The duplicator reads it and labels the disks. Last week I was designing a label, and saw the following when I tried to print.

Problem.png

 

It's never done this before, and I don't really understand what's wrong. I've completely swept all lightscribe software from my pc and reinstalled. I've looked for and installed all the updates I could find. Nothing has worked. I'm running Windows 7 32bit Lenovo ThinkCentre. Any explantion of whats wrong and how to fix it would be appreciated.

 

This topic probably shouldn't be under hardware.

0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 26,608
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 10 (890 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

Hi,

 

Be sure that the CD/DVD device is not behind the Lightscribe drive selection which is showing blank.  If there is nothing there then download and use Imgburn to detect if the drive is even recognized by Windows and whether the drive is still showing Lightscribe capabilities.  Be careful what you click on when installing Imgburn or you will end up with a bunch of software that you may not want.

 

Imgburn lightscribe.jpg

 

 

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-18-2014
Message 3 of 10 (884 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

[ Edited ]

Problem 2.1.png

 

Imgburn says that the drive is not showing Lightscribe capabilities. I don't think it ever did. My PC doesn't have a lightscribe enabled drive, but the stand alone duplicator does. The PC was only used to create the lightscribe image file. If I need a Lightscribe enable drive on my PC to use Lightscriber Labeler, why has it been working thus far without any problems? How could I get it to work again without buying a drive for the PC?

 

P.S. If it's helpful to know, the stand alone doesn't have any USB ports or other connect possiblities. Just a power plug.

Provost
Posts: 26,608
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 10 (876 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

Hi,

 

You don't think that your PC ever had a Lightscribe drive? Perhaps it did and the drive has failed.

 

I think there is some missing information. How did you get Lightscribe to even create an image if there never was a Lightscribe drive connected to your PC ?  How are you getting the image from your PC to the standalone hardware?

 

You might try going back to a known good Windows restore point before the issue occurred.

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-18-2014
Message 5 of 10 (863 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

I have an file named ILY.exe. When it's opened it looks like this: Problem 3.png

 

I think that's what has set up the driver before. To get the Lightscribe image to the duplicator I'd burn a Lightscribe image file to a disk, and insert the disk into the duplicator which would read the image file from the disk. Once the duplicator read the image I could label up to seven disks at a time. I've done so many re-installations and reboots that I'm not sure I can get to a good restore point. The impression I had is that doing those two things enough would make it impossible to find a good Windows restore point. Maybe I just don't know how to do it right. Sorry about this. It's becoming a big hastle.

Provost
Posts: 26,608
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 6 of 10 (856 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Look at the front of your optical drive that is in your PC. Does it have the Lightscribe symbol?  See the symbol on your first post.

 

So what happens when you just click on the color symbol when in the Lightscribe system software in your first post?

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-18-2014
Message 7 of 10 (829 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

[ Edited ]

It definitely does not have the Lightscribe symbol. Clicking the color symbol doesn't do anything. Something interesting to note.

 

 Problem 4.png

 

It says I have a driver, but doesn't show it when I try to print the label.

When I click "Refresh" it changes the driver from "LightScribe Duplicator Label Writer" to "Drive ID 223 Media ID 124 (X: )". Not sure if that means anything, but I'm hoping this information will shed more light on what the problem is.

Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-18-2014
Message 8 of 10 (772 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

Does anybody know how I can fix this?

Provost
Posts: 26,608
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 9 of 10 (764 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Does your offline equipment have installation software that you could reinstall?  What does your offline equipment system specifications indicate for minimum required hardware?

 

You could buy a new lightscribe drive for under $30 on eBay

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-18-2014
Message 10 of 10 (728 Views)

Re: Lightscribe

I have reinstalled all software both from a disk I have, and from online. It has no minium hardware specifications that I can find. The only information I have is what came on the disk ( Lightscribe system software, lightscribe template labeler, Lightscribe Drive Select, Duplicator manual, and a quickstart guide. The manual says nothing about the other computer. Only the duplicator functions. How will buying a drive for my PC help me use my duplicator? As I understand it, the lightscribe software would try to label using the PC drive instead of making a lightscribe image. Or am I wrong? Good chance seeing as I've never used a different setup with lightscribe.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation