Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎12-15-2010
Message 1 of 6 (1,091 Views)
Accepted Solution

Multiple Monitor Set Up

I am trying to set up multiple monitors on my HP P6674y desktop.  It has ATI Radeon4200 Video card w/ both VGA and DVI outputs on the back, and I am of the undertanding it is capable of handling this. 

 

I have two AOC 2436vh monitors that I have tested individually and when hooked up directly through the VGA port on the desktop work perfectly.  However, when even trying to do them individually on the DVI port, they show no signal.

 

When trying to hook up together, I obviously I am not able to see the monitor show up as being recognized by the computer.

 

I was told somewhere that I needed to change the settings on the graphics adapter in order to have both ports activated, but I am not sure how to make this happen.

 

Can someone please help, as I would really like to get these displays running together as soon as I can at my workplace?

 

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Multiple Monitor Set Up

Try this article.  There are different types of DVI<-> VGA adapter and this might be the cause if it's not the right adapter type.  This is one reason why I don't recommend using adapters.

 

If you are using a discrete video card then the motherboard video ports are disable by the bios when a PCI-E x16 video card is detected.

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 17,958
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 2 of 6 (1,088 Views)

Re: Multiple Monitor Set Up

CK, I suggest that you download and install the ATI Catalyst Control Center software (full package).  This software allows you to easily make changes to the video options.  It even allows you to set fan speed, if available, and overclock the card if possible.  It also allows you to choose the monitor setup you desire.

 

Please let us know if this solves your problem.

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Omen X; i7-6700K; 16 GB DDR4 2133; GTX 1070; 256 GB SSD M.2; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎12-15-2010
Message 3 of 6 (1,082 Views)

Re: Multiple Monitor Set Up

I downloaded this program, but I'm not quite sure what I'm doing.  It is only showing me the one primary AOC monitor plugged into the vga port.

 

I have the secondary monitor plugged into the dvi port on the pc via a dvi to vga cord.

 

How do I manage this through the program, as I cannot detect his monitor?

Provost
Posts: 26,674
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 6 (1,048 Views)

Re: Multiple Monitor Set Up

[ Edited ]

Try this article.  There are different types of DVI<-> VGA adapter and this might be the cause if it's not the right adapter type.  This is one reason why I don't recommend using adapters.

 

If you are using a discrete video card then the motherboard video ports are disable by the bios when a PCI-E x16 video card is detected.

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Provost
Posts: 17,958
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 5 of 6 (1,043 Views)

Re: Multiple Monitor Set Up

[ Edited ]

CK, I agree fully with Dave when it comes to using adapters.  You would be further ahead to buy a mid-level dedicated video card with two DVI ports.  Not only would it make using two monitors easier, but it would increase system performance, as well.  Upgrading to a dedicated video card will require a power supply unit (PSU) upgrade, since the existing PSU is only 250W.  This is a bit more complicated than simply installing a video card, but definitely a DIY project.

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Omen X; i7-6700K; 16 GB DDR4 2133; GTX 1070; 256 GB SSD M.2; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎12-15-2010
Message 6 of 6 (1,022 Views)

Re: Multiple Monitor Set Up

Thankfully I didn't need to get a new video card...  It must have been the adapter I was using.  I got a dvi to hdmi adapter and it worked perfectly.  Thanks for your help!

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation