Having trouble signing in? Try this!
Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-09-2010
Message 1 of 7 (626 Views)
Accepted Solution

Restore function

I have tried various restore points, but keep getting a message saying that an unspecified error occurred and the Restore function did not work.

0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Restore function

Hi,

 

Boot into safe mode by tapping away at f8 as you start your PC.  Use the arrow keys to select Safe Mode and hit return.  When loaded try running Sytstem Restore.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Best wishes,

 

DP-K

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 48,236
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 2 of 7 (617 Views)

Re: Restore function

Hi,

 

Boot into safe mode by tapping away at f8 as you start your PC.  Use the arrow keys to select Safe Mode and hit return.  When loaded try running Sytstem Restore.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Best wishes,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Windows Insider MVP

Provost
Posts: 28,010
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 3 of 7 (607 Views)

Re: Restore function

If you are using Norton, then turn off Tamper Protection in the Miscellaneous settings.

Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-09-2010
Message 4 of 7 (588 Views)

Re: Restore function

Thank you, Dave; this worked for changing the size of my text and icons, which I had made too large before. I have not tried the Restore function, but when I do I will try the method suggested by the other person. Kudos!

 

Marj

Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-09-2010
Message 5 of 7 (586 Views)

Re: Restore function

DavidPK, I meant the Kudo for you instead of Big Dave. I have contacted him further about Tamper Protection, and will try that when I next use the Restore function,

Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-09-2010
Message 6 of 7 (583 Views)

Re: Restore function

Big Dave, I have another question for you: how do I go about finding Tamper Protection? Do I access Firefox Help or Windows Vista help? and where is TP? Thanks, Marj

Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎05-02-2009
Message 7 of 7 (526 Views)

Re: Restore function

I am not big dave, but here is the answer to your question, as taken from here

 

To turn on or turn off SymProtect Tamper Protection

1. In the Norton 360 main window, click Settings.
2. In the Settings window, under Quick Controls, do one of the following:
* To turn on SymProtect Tamper Protection, check SymProtect Tamper Protection.
* To turn off SymProtect Tamper Protection, uncheck SymProtect Tamper Protection.
3. Click Close.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation