Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-09-2010
Message 1 of 7 (595 Views)
Accepted Solution

Restore function

I have tried various restore points, but keep getting a message saying that an unspecified error occurred and the Restore function did not work.

0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Restore function

Hi,

 

Boot into safe mode by tapping away at f8 as you start your PC.  Use the arrow keys to select Safe Mode and hit return.  When loaded try running Sytstem Restore.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Best wishes,

 

DP-K

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 46,170
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 2 of 7 (586 Views)

Re: Restore function

Hi,

 

Boot into safe mode by tapping away at f8 as you start your PC.  Use the arrow keys to select Safe Mode and hit return.  When loaded try running Sytstem Restore.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Best wishes,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Windows Insider MVP

Provost
Posts: 26,884
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 3 of 7 (576 Views)

Re: Restore function

If you are using Norton, then turn off Tamper Protection in the Miscellaneous settings.

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-09-2010
Message 4 of 7 (557 Views)

Re: Restore function

Thank you, Dave; this worked for changing the size of my text and icons, which I had made too large before. I have not tried the Restore function, but when I do I will try the method suggested by the other person. Kudos!

 

Marj

Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-09-2010
Message 5 of 7 (555 Views)

Re: Restore function

DavidPK, I meant the Kudo for you instead of Big Dave. I have contacted him further about Tamper Protection, and will try that when I next use the Restore function,

Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎11-09-2010
Message 6 of 7 (552 Views)

Re: Restore function

Big Dave, I have another question for you: how do I go about finding Tamper Protection? Do I access Firefox Help or Windows Vista help? and where is TP? Thanks, Marj

Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎05-02-2009
Message 7 of 7 (495 Views)

Re: Restore function

I am not big dave, but here is the answer to your question, as taken from here

 

To turn on or turn off SymProtect Tamper Protection

1. In the Norton 360 main window, click Settings.
2. In the Settings window, under Quick Controls, do one of the following:
* To turn on SymProtect Tamper Protection, check SymProtect Tamper Protection.
* To turn off SymProtect Tamper Protection, uncheck SymProtect Tamper Protection.
3. Click Close.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation