Having trouble signing in? Try this!
Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-13-2009
Message 1 of 5 (1,783 Views)

TouchSmart 600 Upgrade

Hi,

 

I was just wondering if there was any simply way to replace the CPU of the TouchSmart?

 

Thanks for your help.

0 Kudos
Master's Graduate
Posts: 595
Member Since: ‎11-29-2008
Message 2 of 5 (1,756 Views)

Re: TouchSmart 600 Upgrade


CapaPrime wrote:

Hi,

 

I was just wondering if there was any simply way to replace the CPU of the TouchSmart?

 

Thanks for your help.


 

depending on your model - for the 600-1070a you can... here is some info from the Product's specification page from Support & Drivers link..

 

Motherboard description
  • Manufacturer: Pegatron
  • HP/Compaq name: E60
CPU/Processor
  • Socket: 478P
  • Supports the following processors:
    • Core 2 Duo Txxxx (P)
    • Core 2 Duo Txxxx (M)


 NOTE: Supports M core with front side bus speed of 800MHz only. Core 2 Duo (P): T95x0, T8x00, T7x50 series (1066MHz & 800MHz FSB) Core 2 Duo (M): T7xx0 series (800MHz FSB)
Front-side bus (FSB) (Processor Dependent)
  • 800MHz, 1066MHz
HP Elite X2 1012 G2, HP ENVY 17-j005tx Notebook, HP ENVY Recline 27-k001a, HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 G2020T, HP MediaSmart EX495 Server, HP MediaVault 2020, HP ENVY 120 AiO Printer
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-13-2009
Message 3 of 5 (1,728 Views)

Re: TouchSmart 600 Upgrade

Hey Jim,

 

Thanks for the reply, that has helped alot :)

Master's Graduate
Posts: 595
Member Since: ‎11-29-2008
Message 4 of 5 (1,721 Views)

Re: TouchSmart 600 Upgrade


CapaPrime wrote:

Hey Jim,

 

Thanks for the reply, that has helped alot :)


This should help you even further, on how to remove back cover and get to your CPU, etc,...

 

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SupportTaskIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&taskId=125&prodS...

 

 

HP Elite X2 1012 G2, HP ENVY 17-j005tx Notebook, HP ENVY Recline 27-k001a, HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 G2020T, HP MediaSmart EX495 Server, HP MediaVault 2020, HP ENVY 120 AiO Printer
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-10-2015
Message 5 of 5 (459 Views)

Re: TouchSmart 600 Upgrade

Please, I want to be wrong about this.

 

HP Lied as far as I can tell.

 

I have the HP Touchsmart 600-1120.

 

Based on the manual for the machine, and, the manual for the motherboard it will take an I7-820qm.

 

The motherboard does not have video on (based on the spec sheet for the manual) it making it not possible for the I5 or I7 chips that you say work to work.

 

Please, someone tell me I am wrong, and, tell me how (pretty please), as everything I can find says it is not possible (except for the  HP manuals of course).

 

I have now tried to contact HP directly a few times and have receive no response at all.

 

I do have the I7 CPU which I cannot get to work, I also have the I3 which works fine.

 

Many forums on the web say that a Bios flash is required, but HP will not supply one (an HP employee in one of the forums confirmed this.)   I would be willing to flash the bios, but if I could find one, that does not change the issue that the motherboard spec sheet says there is no onboard video.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation