Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎01-29-2014
Message 1 of 5 (554 Views)
Accepted Solution

Want to upgrade to a bigger hard drive - compaq presario FR429AA

I have a compaq presario FR429AA and the device manager in Windows 7 tellsme I have a WDC WD32 00AAJS-65B4A SCSI Disk Device as my internal hard drive. This is 320Gig but I want to put in a 2or 3TB internal drive to run as the primary drive with the operating system on and keep the old drive as extra storage space.

 

I have heard of IDE, PATA and SATA devices, but I'mnot sure about SCSI drives for the PC's main hard drive.  Can I simply go with a SATA drive? Or do I specifically tolook for a SCSI for this PC?

 

Thanks    

0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Want to upgrade to a bigger hard drive - compaq presario FR429AA

The 2 TiB limit is due to the OS.  However, that is for one drive.  You can install multiple drives up to, I believe, 256 TiB on the system.  Using the old drive will create no problems.

 

I suggest doing a System Recovery using the Recovery Discs.  This will save possible problems that can occur.  Here is a guide to help you.  Also, here is a guide to help you upgrade from Vista to Win 7.

 

I have never used Acronis Backup.  Therefore, I am not certain if your suggestion will work properly.  HP motherboards are tatooed with the major components of the computer.  If the motherboard doesn't detect these components it will not do an install using the Recovery Discs.

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 18,087
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 2 of 5 (537 Views)

Re: Want to upgrade to a bigger hard drive - compaq presario FR429AA

[ Edited ]

Wadealo, welcome to the forum.

 

Here is the Product Specifications page for the computer.  Scroll down the section titled "Hard drive".  This is what it shows:

 

Figure 3: Hard drive
Image of hard drive
  • Size: 320 GB
  • Interface: SATA
  • Transfer rating: 3.0 Gb/sec
  • Rotational Speed: 7200 RPM

 

As you can see, the drive is SATA.  The largest drive that you can install is 2 TiB.

 

The SCSI (prn. Skuzzy) drives are mainly used in servers.

 

Please click "KUDOS" if I have helped you and click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved.

 

 

 

 

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Omen X; i7-6700K; 16 GB DDR4 2133; GTX 1070; 256 GB SSD M.2; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Provost
Posts: 8,139
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 3 of 5 (535 Views)

Re: Want to upgrade to a bigger hard drive - compaq presario FR429AA

[ Edited ]

The circa 2008 Compaq SR5605UK initially come with Win VIsta OS. You are restricted to a 2GB hard drive. I could explain it, but it's not a debatable point, so why bother confusing you.  Forget the SCSI reference, it's a hold-over. Actual specs are: Size: 320 GB, Interface: SATA,  Transfer rating: 3.0 Gb/sec, Rotational Speed: 7200 RPM. The buffer cache is 32MB. The drives has a 512-byte sector. You will have difficulty with this issue.  Newer drives are AF 4096-byte sector.

As you upgraded from Vista to WIn7, your Recovery partition and any created Recovery DVD's will not work with AF drives, see here. Also, any crash (total)  would force you to re-install Vista, then upgrade back to WIn7.

 

When you report back, let's discuss your plan.

 

 

This system is feedback driven thru Solution and Kudo flags. It's the only means of knowing if you have been served.
Please click Accept as Solution, if your problem is solved. To say THANK YOU, press the "thumbs up symbol" to render a KUDO. You can render both Solution and KUDO..

Loaner: Envy Omen Windows 10 Pro 64 bit 4th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700HQ + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M 8GB Discrete Graphics (16GB RAM) 512GB m.2 SSD
HP Envy 8 5010 Tablet
(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t E8400,Win7 Pro, 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD
Custom Asus Z97D, I7-4790k, 16GB RAM, WIN10 Pro 64bit, ZOTAC GTX1080 8GB, 500GB HD SSD, Asus PB287 4k monitor, Rosewill Blackhawk case and OCZ 750W.
Printer -- HP OfficeJet Pro 8620
Highlighted
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎01-29-2014
Message 4 of 5 (509 Views)

Re: Want to upgrade to a bigger hard drive - compaq presario FR429AA

Thanks for the prompt responses.

 

2TB is fine, but is this a limit on just the operating system hard drive? Since it is still working, I would quite like to keep the old drive as a secondary to have a bit more space.

 

If I install a newer AF drive, perform a full, direct Windows 7 re-install (rather than an upgrade) and then create a disk image (I have Acronis Back up software) would this avoid the issues outlined?

Provost
Posts: 18,087
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 5 of 5 (494 Views)

Re: Want to upgrade to a bigger hard drive - compaq presario FR429AA

[ Edited ]

The 2 TiB limit is due to the OS.  However, that is for one drive.  You can install multiple drives up to, I believe, 256 TiB on the system.  Using the old drive will create no problems.

 

I suggest doing a System Recovery using the Recovery Discs.  This will save possible problems that can occur.  Here is a guide to help you.  Also, here is a guide to help you upgrade from Vista to Win 7.

 

I have never used Acronis Backup.  Therefore, I am not certain if your suggestion will work properly.  HP motherboards are tatooed with the major components of the computer.  If the motherboard doesn't detect these components it will not do an install using the Recovery Discs.

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Omen X; i7-6700K; 16 GB DDR4 2133; GTX 1070; 256 GB SSD M.2; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation