Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-22-2014
Message 1 of 11 (550 Views)

hard drive not showing up as full capacity

hi there folks!  i'm having trouble getting my hpe 337c with win7 64bit to recognize a new, additional 3tb internal hard drive's capacity.  it's only recognizing it as 750 gb instead of 3tb.  GPT, still no dice.  windows fully updated, no BIOS update available.  help please!!

0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 26,889
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 11 (535 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Is the new hard drive USB connected or connected to a motherboard SATA port?  Your description is a bit unclear.  The new hard drive will need to be used as a data hard drive and not a boot hard drive.

 

Try the following:

 

Open up the RUN window and enter the following:

 

cmd

diskpart

list disk

select disk x (x equals the target hard drive)

clean

exit

 

Now go into Disk Mangement and intiialize and format the hard drive GPT

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-22-2014
Message 3 of 11 (510 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

thank you for your reply!  

 

i did the disk clean and reformatted gpt, but to no avail.  still 750gb.  crud.

Provost
Posts: 26,889
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 11 (508 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

Hi,

 

Is the hard drive installed inside your PC with a native SATA connection to the motherboard?

 

Was your PC ever placed in RAID mode?

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-22-2014
Message 5 of 11 (501 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

Yes, and yes. At least I believe it's in RAID mode. I can't update my old raid driver, though. How do I check to see whether or not it's in RAID mode? Downloaded through Intel, but got an immediate error. WD tech support says I need a light format, and sent me a link to an app.
Provost
Posts: 26,889
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 6 of 11 (497 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

What exactly did you download from Intel a got an immediate error?  What happened?

 

What does Disk Management indicate as the status for the current boot hard drive?

 

RAID mode is not the bios default for your PC so please explain the history.

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-22-2014
Message 7 of 11 (486 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

i downloaded the latest version of Rapid Storage Tech raid.  it wouldn't cooperate.  current status boot drive healthy.  i haven't changed any disk settings since trying to install the hard disk.  i suppose that means that it is still in default mode.

Provost
Posts: 26,889
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 8 of 11 (475 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Did you try the app from WD?

 

 

You responses seem to be unclear to what the status really is for your hard drive. You can always uninstall IRST and then reinstall it.

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz, 16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler, Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 500GB data storage, Intel 750 PCIe SSD 400GB
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-22-2014
Message 9 of 11 (458 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

yep, i let the program run for all the long hours it needed to write zeroes on the new drive.  it's STILL showing up as 750gb.  this is getting old.

Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-22-2014
Message 10 of 11 (413 Views)

Re: hard drive not showing up as full capacity

what about ahci?  is that a ssd setting only or will my old board need that?  it's been around since may of '10.

 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation