Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 1 of 7 (1,088 Views)

newly installed ram not showing up

I have an hp pavilion m9400t. I recently had 1 gb ram in all 4 slots. Then  the number 1 slot quit working. I removed that one and the 3 slot as I was told to do and the computer ran like crap. I then went ahead and reinstalled the #3 slot ram and it ran fine again. I am upgrading to windows 8 so I bought 3- 2 gb ram sticks. After insalling them it kept showing only 4gb of ram. I tried reseating them and everything and nothing worked. It kept only recognizing 4 gb ram. Then I blew out the inside thinking it was dust and tried again. nothing. Now I reinserted one of the old 1 gb sticks into the 3 slot and tried one in the 1 slot. Funny thing is, Its still showing 4gb ram with the 1 and 3 slot working now. So maybe the 1 slot wasn't working properly due to dust I guess. Maybe. Problem is, only 1 of the 2 gb sticks is registering still in the 2 and 4 slots. Tried pulling 1 out and it doesn't change. I baffled and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Oh, by the way, it's running great but I just want to know why I cant get 6 gb ram to show. Thanks.

0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 17,971
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 2 of 7 (1,084 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

Rick, are you certain that you bought the correct memory?  Here is the memory supported by the motherboard:

 

  • Dual channel memory architecture
  • Four 240-pin DDR2 DIMM sockets
  • Supported DIMM types:
     
  • PC2-5300 (667 MHz)
  • PC2-6400 (800 MHz)
  • Non-ECC memory only, unbuffered
  • Supports 2GB DDR2 DIMMs
  • Supports up to 8 GB on 64 bit PCs
  • Supports up to 4 GB* on 32 bit PCs
*32-bit operating systems cannot address a full 4.0 GB of memory.

 

Also, unless you upgraded to a 64-bit OS, the 32-bit OS will only recognize 3.5 GB of memory.

 

If you don't fill all 4 slots with memory, it is best to use a matching set in either the black or blue slots.

 

Please click "KUDOS" if I have helped you and click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Omen X; i7-6700K; 16 GB DDR4 2133; GTX 1070; 256 GB SSD M.2; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 3 of 7 (1,078 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

I definelty bought the correct ram sticks. And I bought my pc as a 64 bit operating system. I'm baffelled. Like I said, I understand that your suppose to have the slots 1 and 3, and 2 and 4 working together. But, thats what I dont get. MIne is recognizing 1 and 3 which have 1 gb sticks in. It's also recognizing either 2 or 4 which have 2gb sticks in. No matter what I do though I can't get it to recognize both 2 and 4 at the same time.

Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 4 of 7 (1,077 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

The sticks are 2 gb dd2 dimm.

Provost
Posts: 17,971
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 5 of 7 (1,075 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

The fact that it continues to show 4 GB of memory is what makes me suspicious that you have a 32-bit OS.  Please check in the Control Panel to make certain that it is 64-bit.

 

Also, did you buy three of the same sticks?  Which memory did you buy?  Give me the entire information on it.

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Omen X; i7-6700K; 16 GB DDR4 2133; GTX 1070; 256 GB SSD M.2; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 6 of 7 (1,070 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

I am positive it is 64 bit. I've had this pc for 6 years now. I bought PNY @gb DDR2 PC2 6400. Like I said though. It keeps showing at least one working. I understand what you're saying about the 32 bit only allowing 3.5. But, Thats just not the case here. When I had all 3 installed in slots 2,3, and 4, Only 4 gb still showed up. However before I bought these, as I said before, I had 1 gb sticks in slots 2,3, and 4 because I thought the 1 slot was working, and they all showed up as 3 gb total ram. I dont get it either but this is what I need to upgrade to windows 8 for because I am taking some online college courses in the computer field. Thanks Again

Provost
Posts: 8,060
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 7 of 7 (1,058 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

What old_geekster is askling is somewhat simple. Walking into a store and purchasing generic PNY DDR2 is not purchasing modules that are compliant with HP.

This system is feedback driven thru Solution and Kudo flags. It's the only means of knowing if you have been served.
Please click Accept as Solution, if your problem is solved. To say THANK YOU, press the "thumbs up symbol" to render a KUDO. You can render both Solution and KUDO..

Loaner: Envy Omen Windows 10 Pro 64 bit 4th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700HQ + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M 8GB Discrete Graphics (16GB RAM) 512GB m.2 SSD
HP Envy 8 5010 Tablet
(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t E8400,Win7 Pro, 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD
Custom Asus Z97D, I7-4790k, 16GB RAM, WIN10 Pro 64bit, ZOTAC GTX1080 8GB, 500GB HD SSD, Asus PB287 4k monitor, Rosewill Blackhawk case and OCZ 750W.
Printer -- HP OfficeJet Pro 8620
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation