cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ArchivedThis topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
alm4hope
Level 1
7 6 1 0
Message 1 of 9
Flag Post

Solved!

repartition hp windows 7 hard drive after format

HP Recommended

My July 2009 HP Pavilion dv7 has required "boot-level" recovery and restoration yet a 4th time! However, THIS time, it has failed to successfully reinstall the OS (Originally Vista, OEM Upgrade to Window 7 64-bit)! I have been trying for a week and hate to give up on a nearly 500 Gb GOOD laptop compurer that I KNOW CAN WORK.

I am NOT a techie, but I AM old enough (50) to have experienced taking BASIC DOS in college. Yet, not all commands are accepted. I have to use my Windows Repair Disk to boot up (internal CD drive), my husband's external CD drive for ANY other CD-DVD to be read/recognized by the computer, numerous jumpdrives loaded with Boot Recovery data, a 1.5 Tb external drive WITH copies of the original and upgrade CD, in hopes the OS can access that, since it has trouble with its own internal CD-DVD drive.

I have run dozens of diagnostics, reset the BIOS to default, changed the boot sequence to access the recovery peripherals, I have copied ALL original data from the Recovery drive partition and the X:\Boot partition to the C:\ drive.

When I try to install Windows 7 again, it either runs indefinitely at Stage 2 "Installing Windows" or it give me an error message:  "Setup was unable to create a new system partition or locate an existing system partition. See the Setup log files for more information." (Of WHERE I have any idea they are!)

I need SIMPLE, STEP-BY-STEP assistance to restore my HP Pavilion to normal operation, PLEASE!

Thank you for any help you can provide! :womanembarrassed:

Cyberfluff
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
Paul_Tikkanen
Level 21
Level 21