cancel

Note on archived topics.

This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
Highlighted
scooter-c Honor Student
Honor Student
3 2 0 0
Message 1 of 4
Flag Post
HP Recommended

write protected HP-Thumb drive

HP Pavilion HPE h8-1160t CTO D
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

i Bought a HP 16 GB thumbdrive (TD) to use as a system backup.

I made the BIG  mistake of using it to backup 2 other important files, which overloaded the thumbdrive's capacity. I copied those files to another location without issue.

I attempted to delete those files and was notified that they were write protected. I then attempted to format the TD, which also stated I couldn't format because it was write protected. It has made the TD totally useless.

I'm not a computer expert, but do  know how to move around the machine. I don't know how to turn off the write protection.

HELP, PLEASE!:smileyfrustrated:

0 Kudos
3 REPLIES 3
Retired
Retired
7771 6909 449 841
Message 2 of 4
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hi there @scooter-c,

Welcome back to the HP Support Forums!  I understand that you have a USB thumb-drive that is write protected, and you need help to make it writable again. I am happy to help with this.

With the USB flash drive connected to your computer try this:

1. Press Win key+R and type "cmd" to open the command prompt. When the command window opens, type "diskpart" followed by <Enter>. This will likely launch in a separate window, and you may be prompted to start it.

2. In that window, type "list volume"  then <Enter>. This should display a list of the drives connected to your computer.

3. Find your USB thumb-drive in the list, the size column should help with identifying which is the drive you need.  Make note of the number of the drive in the list, in the first column.