Level 1
8 7 0 1
Message 1 of 14
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Flickering pixels and sort of screen tearing

Hp Omen 870-224
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I need some drastic help from anyone possible. I am a fairly tech savvy person and my girlfriends pc is having a problem with flickering pixels and it's almost like screen tearing but it's very hard to describe. Almost like broad lines in any kind of direction and color flashing around the screen. This drastically happens when she is playing the Sims 4. I have updated the gpu, swapped monitors, swapped cables, I even plugged the monitor into the dvi port in what I'm assuming is the motherboard but I'm not completely sure without looking inside. What else could I be missing or try? It just makes no sense to me what else it could be. Any help is definitely appreciated. 

13 REPLIES 13
Level 15
Level 15
11,083 10,894 1,121 3,232
Message 2 of 14
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hello @Dominic22

Can you explain in more detail what you mean when you say you upgraded the GPU?

Did you install a new Graphics card or did you mean you updated the driver?

And when you say you used the video port on the motherboard, that is the wrong one.

You need to plug the monitor into the port on the graphics card.

It will be like this photo...

omen 870.JPG

0 Kudos
Dominic22
Level 1
8 7 0 1
Message 3 of 14
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Yes sorry I updates the driver for the gpu and I had the pc plugged into the hdmi on the graphics hard and I was thinking the dvi port was integrated graphics but I see now it is not. I was basically trying to run the pc on integrated graphics so I could see if the problem still persisted. 

0 Kudos
Level 15
Level 15
Message 4 of 14
Flag Post
HP Recommended

The integrated graphics will be disabled when a PCIe graphics card is installed.

When you upgraded the driver, did you do a clean install?

Run a program called Guru 3D driver uninstaller.