cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
gPannu
2 0 0 0
Message 1 of 2
Flag Post

Solved!

HP OMEN CPU Upgrade

HP Recommended
HP OMEN 880-020
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hey I am currently using the HP OMEN 880-020 and I have a Ryzen 5 1400 processor. My buddy went ahead and bought a new CPU for his pc and he is gifting me with a Ryzen 7 1700 with wraith cooler. I am a newbie when it comes to computers and that was the reason I went ahead and bought a pre-built. I want to upgrade the cpu though but I read online that the wraith cooler will not work with the motherboard. Also it says to update your bios and currently my bios is showing as F.04-07/10/2017 I have tried to update it but I get the message "This update is for BIOS family 8437, version F.50. I am getting the cpu in a few days and I just want to be prepared to install it correctly. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Grzwacz
Level 12
Level 12
7,153 5,604 684 1,666
Message 2 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Greetings,

Welcome to the forum.

I am not a HP employee.

You want this BIOS update (Link) for MB SSID 8309.

AMD CPU heatsinks (Wraith) use a rectangular mounting system.

HP, for some reason, uses a square CPU socket heatsink mounting system on the Higos motherboard.

The Ryzen 1700 is a 65 watt CPU so hopefully the current HP installed heatsink and fan should be okay.

Regards

View solution in original post

Was this reply helpful? Yes No
1 REPLY 1
Grzwacz
Level 12
Level 12
7,153 5,604 684 1,666
Message 2 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Greetings,

Welcome to the forum.

I am not a HP employee.