Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Intern
Posts: 37
Member Since: ‎12-27-2015
Message 1 of 5 (444 Views)

If I Swap out Parts Will My 6000 Pro AIO be a Gaming Machine?(2)

[ Edited ]
Product Name: HP 6000 Pro All In One
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

Hello. If you are familiar with the original post then you know that I've been trying to unlock my 6000 pro's gaming capabilities, the problem is after thoroughly looking into the unit (which I am not at all familiar with) I found that one of the many available slots holds a graphics card that I can't run any newer or more recent games without, yes the unit did not come with the graphics card installed (nor did it have the webcam or the wifi adapter) but that's not the problem, the problem is that the replacement part is practically non-existant and the only affordable one does not have the bracket, it seems, that would hold the heatsink down, see here https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008G41X0S/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_S_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=1EUDYCG9XLLCC&coli...

 

I don't mind scouring the web for the parts but if they are available then they have the price that you scurry away from. Any suggestions? ~Secretely hoping HP has some of these lying around that they're tired of housing and are willing to freely part with lol!~

Reply
0
Provost
Posts: 59,573
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 2 of 5 (419 Views)

Re: If I Swap out Parts Will My 6000 Pro AIO be a Gaming Machine?(2)

Hi,

 

Is it an HP Compaq 6000 Pro Small Form Factor PC :

 

     http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?docId=emr_na-c01865794

 

It is NOT an AIO machine and swapping everything including its case, motherboard  ... you can have a gaming machine.

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Intern
Posts: 37
Member Since: ‎12-27-2015
Message 3 of 5 (416 Views)

Re: If I Swap out Parts Will My 6000 Pro AIO be a Gaming Machine?(2)

[ Edited ]

Yes, it is an AiO which I unfortunately had to swap the motherboard out of, gave an 8gb RAM upgrade and a 3.33ghz CPU upgrade. All that is missing are these few parts, other than that this AiO unit exceeds most pc game requirements.

 

*Update* It looks as if my "problem" might not be so bad after all, while the missing bracket for the graphics card should be on heatsink that would be needed to hold it down. All replies are still welcome. Thanks!

Provost
Posts: 41,862
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 4 of 5 (237 Views)

Re: If I Swap out Parts Will My 6000 Pro AIO be a Gaming Machine?(2)

[ Edited ]

It won't be enough of a gaming machine to run the latest games with high graphics requirements unless you can find an MXM3 card that works.

 

The graphics card (MXM3 type) is probably going to be the biggest obstacle to overcome.  AFAIK, the BIOS your PC has is the legacy.

 type, and not UEFI

Here is a link to the Maintenence & service Guide for your AIO PC.

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?sp4ts.oid=4210074&docLocale=en_US&docId=emr_na-c03...

 

Support portal for your AIO PC

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=4210069&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4059

 

MXM3 video cards

http://www.ebay.com/bhp/mxm-video-card

 

There is no guarantee that the cards will be compatible with your PC. It will be a bit of a gamble. Fortunately, the cards are not, for the most part, so expensive.

If I was able to help you resolve your issue, you can click on the purple Thumbs up + icon to say thanks.

If your problem is solved , please click the Accepted Solution button

I am not an HP Employee, I am a volunteer posting here on my own time
Intern
Posts: 37
Member Since: ‎12-27-2015
Message 5 of 5 (222 Views)

Re: If I Swap out Parts Will My 6000 Pro AIO be a Gaming Machine?(2)

Hello as it turns out I have managed to come across some of the missing components from my device and there were plenty, in replacing the motherboard I managed to acquire a wireless card, I still have no webcam but I did find the mxm graphics card and matching heatsink, everything was a-go until I installed them just to find out that my power supply wasn't enough for the card to start from but once I have that replaced I should be ok.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation