8 6 0 0
Message 1 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Jittering and frictional sound, maintenance and updates

HP Omen 880 - NT100
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hello everyone,

I have recently purchased HP Omen 880 - 100nt gaming desktop. After a very long time, this is my first time using Windows and a gaming desktop again. I don't have much knowledge in computer maintenance, problems and hardware. I am very pleased with the performance of my computer. It's been 1 month since I started using my computer. I don't know if it's important but I bought a display product because it was the last product in the stock of the store. I have some concerns and maybe a potential problem with my computer. There is an annoying jittering/frictional sound (like a printer working or printing) when I first start my computer and launching games. Sometimes the sound keeps coming while playing games. It is not very loud, but I can hear it. I made some research on this sound on the forum and learned that it may be coil whine however I watched some youtubes videos about coil whine and the sound isn't similar with the coil whine. Maybe I am wrong. I always check the temperature of CPU and GPU from Command Center while playing games, after the games and idle. When idle both temperatures are between 30 and 40 celcius and after heavy demanding games max temperature I saw is 76 celcius until now. The temperature is between 60-70 celcius in most of my games. I regulary use Windows Updater to see if there is an update and I am currently using Kaspersky Total Security. Should I be worried with this sound ? This is my first concern. I also want to know if I need to update my drivers from the website of the manufacturer or not ? Is Windows Updater satisfactory for this task ? One last thing is that I have never used liquid cooling system, do I need to do anything in terms of maintenance ? I want to thank everyone in advance, I hope someone can help me.

Kind regards,

5 REPLIES 5
HP Support Agent