Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Don_Jimbo
4 3 0 0
Message 1 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Just purchased an Omen and I want to know how to safely overclock my Rysen 7 1800X Chip

OMEN by HP Gaming Desktop PC - 880-040
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Greetings:

I have just purchased my OMEN by HP Gaming Desktop PC - 880-040 and I am anticipating the happy experience of opening it and having fun during the set up.  I am hoping my drivers update well and my wireless network will work well so all necessary updates will be made seemlessly.

I want to know how to use the Omen Command Center to Overclock my Rysen 7 1800X CPU. 

I am a newbie at the overclocking stuff so I don't want to stress out my system too much but I would like to know what the recommended settings are for overclocking and how to go about doing this safely,  and by safe I mean not wrecking my cpu and ram.

There are other optomizations for the Rysen chips that I believe may need to be done and I don't know if they have been done on the existing build (Preloaded software and settings) which I should find out this  coming monday, but if there is anyone who knows before I recieve the system I would be most greatful for the heads up.  The Optomizations for Rysen based systems is listed below here:

https://www.pcworld.com/article/3180511/components-processors/7-amd-ryzen-tips-and-tricks-to-maximiz...

Please let me know if some of this is done or If I should follow the instructions.

Thank you in Advance for your help.

Don_Jimbo

Problem is that I have been told that I won't be able to adjust the Bios of the Higos Motherboard and instead must use the Command Center to do the Overclocking.  All well and good if it works, which I believe there is more information on the forumns for intel chips than AMD Rysen Chips..

7 REPLIES 7
Level 15
Level 15
21,875 21,502 2,483 8,249
Message 2 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended