Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
HP Recommended
OMEN X VR Compact Desktop
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hello

I've been using my OMEN X VR Compact Desktop for a couple of months now in quite a regular way playing some VR games and doing some work. In general there were almost no problems. There was a little problem that it would usually take several pushes of the ON button every morning I tried to start it but it was tolerable. However, about a week ago I turned on my Omen and the fan inside all of a sudden started to make a very loud noise. It was so loud up to the point that I turned it off immediately and was afraid to turn it back on. I took off the front panel. It was the upper CPU fan that was making this rattling noise. Took off the fan. I cleaned it up and lubed it up with a couple of drops of motor oil. But probably because I couldn't take the main cap off the fan to get to the fan's shaft the noise is still there. It's not as bad so that I'm no longer afraid to turn it on but it still sounds unhealthy. Like a constant cat purring. So, I tried to find a replacement for this exact fan online but it seems to be non-existent on any popular online markets. I tried looking on HP spare parts department, Amazon, eBay, Newegg, Walmart and even Chinese Taobao