Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MrsTaylor3
1 0 0 0
Message 1 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

My HP OfficeJet 5258 runs out of ink quickly (& I use XL cartridges).

HP OfficeJet 5258

HP OfficeJet 5258 

model number SNPRC-1702-02

this printer goes through ink quickly

I purchased XL cartridges, and it still runs out pretty fast

I have used HP printers in the past 5 years, the XL cartridges used in those HP printers used to last me many months.

I'm a teacher and the amount of printing I am doing currently has not changed compared to when I used my other HP printers. Why is this one running out so fast?

1 REPLY 1
Level 15
Level 15
23,808 23,589 2,043 7,471
Message 2 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

My HP OfficeJet 5258 runs out of ink quickly (& I use XL cartridges).

@MrsTaylor3 

@MrsTaylor3 wrote:

HP OfficeJet 5258 

model number SNPRC-1702-02

this printer goes through ink quickly

I purchased XL cartridges, and it still runs out pretty fast

I have used HP printers in the past 5 years, the XL cartridges used in those HP printers used to last me many months.

I'm a teacher and the amount of printing I am doing currently has not changed compared to when I used my other HP printers. Why is this one running out so fast?

Teaches know that open ended questions are difficult to answer.  Smiling.

"Pretty fast" likely describes a period of time less than "many months".

I do understand that the printer is in some way not performing the way you expect.

Some of the answer perhaps has to do with the number of pages, the type of printing (for example, color / full page / combination printing of text and images, quality settings).  Much of the answer has to do with the particular printer:  how it uses ink compared to other printers (not all printers use ink at the same rate).