cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
thaddeusarcher
3 2 0 0
Message 1 of 6
Flag Post

HP AiO remote doesn't recognize 3rd party toner as compatible in LaserJet M1217nfw MFP

HP Recommended
LaserJet M1217nfw MFP
Windows 8.1

Hi,

I have a HP Envy 17 running Windows 8.1, a MacBook Air, an iPhone and a HP LaserJet M1217nfw MFP.  I recently replaced the toner with a 3rd party replacement cartridge and while the printer does give me a "supply memory error" I am still able to print just fine from the Mac and my phone.  I am unable however to print from my Envy.  The HP All-in-One Remote app in Windows 8 gives me an "incompatible cartridge" message and says there are no solutions availble.  Is there a work-around to this?

I am not very good at Windows 8....

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
ShlomiL
Level 17
Level 17
31,618 31,329 5,399 12,622
Message 2 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hi,

A supply memory error indicate a toner cartridge problem.

Ensure you removed all protective tapes, otherwise you will need to replace the defective cartridge.

You may follow tehse steps to troubleshoot a such, as long as the printer remain in any error state you will need to resolve a such to gain full usage of the pritner:

http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c02484074/

Regards,

Shlomi

Say thanks by clicking the Kudos thumb up in the post.
If my post resolve your problem please mark it as an Accepted Solution 🙂
0 Kudos
thaddeusarcher
Author
3 2 0 0
Message 3 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended
Hi Shlomi,

The printer isn't in an error state. It just has a message. I am able to print from my phone and from my Mac, but the PC doesn't. It is not critical that I am able to print from my computer but it is a hastle to email a document to myself and then look it up on my phone and then print from my phone.

Is there a way to tell AiO in windows 8 to run the print job even if it sees a non-HP installed cartridge in the printer?
Thanks
Thaddeus
0 Kudos
ShlomiL
Level 17
Level 17