Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Any failures related to Hotkey UWP service? Click here for tips.
HP Recommended
15-f387wm
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I'm a computer technician, and I cannot figure this issue out. Windows tries to boot and gives the error: Unmountable Boot Device. My first thought would be to boot using a live disc to back up data and attempt repair. When I try to boot to a disc or USB, I get the HP splash screen and the spinning dots, indicating that it's loading, then the screen goes black, and nothing happens after that point. I've tried reseating and replacing the RAM, but this helped none. I'm at a complete loss at this point, and any advice would be greatly appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

@Amorris94 

I have occasionally seen a bad hdd prevent booting from anything. This is assuming you are using Esc at power on to open the startup menu, then F9 Boot Option to select the bootable cd/usb?

You could always unhook the drive and then test booting with your bootable usb/cd. If it boots then it would pretty much rule out other problems. Maintenance and Service Guide shows how to access hdd:

https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-15-f300-notebook-pc-series-touch/8961458/model/10098384/manu...

**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue**