Honor Student
2 1 0 0
Message 1 of 3
Flag Post
HP Recommended

HP Elitebook Pen inconsistent writing

HP Elitebook X360
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I am a teacher, and have been having issues with my HP Stylus for the last year and a half.  I have to frequently change the batteries when the stylus either doesn't respond or the digital inking becomes choppy.  I've been given new pens, but this did not resolve the problem - I went through 3 styluses, and never found a pen that would consistently work when the batteries were changed.  The issue has gotten so bad that I am now on a rechargeable pen (which works great!) - but I'm speaking for the other teachers in my building that are using the pen with batteries, and are now having the same problems I was.  We replace the batteries (AAAA and the small batteries) and replace the pen tips.  In some cases, it is fixed for a week.  In most cases, this does not solve the problem and the stylus remains dead.  Then I'll go back to the pen days later, and now it is working.  These are the inconsistencies that we are seeing, among the problem with the inking being choppy.

So basically my questions are - 

1) How often should these batteries be replaced? Because as I stated above - some teachers are having to change the battery every week.

2) When does the pen turn "on" and turn "off"? I cannot find this information in the handbook.  

3) Is there a weak connection with the AAAA battery?  

4) Is this generation of stylus not the best for heavy digital inking?  Is it better for light use or infrequent use?  The teachers who are having the most problems are heavy users.

5)  Is there anything we can do or try?

Thank you!

2 REPLIES 2
Distinguished Professor Distinguished Professor
Distinguished Professor
2,538 2,347 287 854
Message 2 of 3
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hello @ErinW2,