Honor Student
2 0 0 0
Message 1 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

HP Envy 15 Battery plugged, charging, but not actually charging

HP Envy 15
Microsoft Windows 10 (32-bit)

So I've had problems with my battery charging. At first it was the AC adapter, I got a new one. Then my battery wasn't holding a charge, so I got a new battery. Now my new battery still isn't charging. It says "plugged in, charging", but won't go above 17% no matter how long it charges. I'm not good with computers, what do I do now?

1 REPLY 1
HP Support Agent
HP Support Agent
20,574 20,188 1,686 2,760
Message 2 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

HP Envy 15 Battery plugged, charging, but not actually charging

@Skyelerbluejay

Thank you for joining HP Forums. 
I'll be glad to help you 🙂

As I understand the charger is plugged in but the battery isn't charging and you've recently replaced the battery & the AC adapter, here's what i recommend:

• Go into the Device Manager. (type device manager in the search all programs and files box and press enter)

• Click on the triangle next to the Batteries device to expand it.

• Right-click on the devices that are revealed. One at a time, select uninstall for each of the following devices.  (Microsoft AC Adapter and Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method  Battery)

• Once you have uninstalled them, then right click any device and select scan for hardware changes.

• The Windows 7 operating system will reinstall fresh copies of the devices you just uninstalled. 

• Restart your notebook and check to see how charging is going.

• Now open the HP Support Assistant --> Troubleshoot --> Power, Thermal and Mechanical. In the Power tab click on Battery check..  

• If you do not get a pass or OK on the battery check, contact HP Total Care for warranty service.

HP Technical Support can be reached by clicking on the following link:

http://h22207.www2.hp.com/us-en/?openCLC=true