Student
1 0 0 0
Message 1 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Internal Power Button

Envy x 360 15m-bp012dx
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I just recently went to use my laptop and found that it would not power on.  I took it to a repital computer repair store and found that the internal power button that is attached to the mother board is broken.  They are telling me that the laptop can not be fixed.  I just purchased this laptop in July 2017.  Is this information true? Can my new laptop not be repaired? if so what is the replacement piece? If I send it to HP can they repair it for me and for how much?  Please help.  I am a nursing student and EVERYTHING is on that laptop.

7 REPLIES 7
Dean
Dean
11,617 11,017 575 1,638
Message 2 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Internal Power Button

The "good news" is that all your Personal Files are on the disk-drive, probably undamaged, and a technician can remove your disk-drive, and can access all those files.

Product Number : 1KS73UA 
Description : HP ENVY X360 - 15M-BP012DX 

Interface (Module) 

924336-001  PCBA, SD       
  932790-001  PCBA, TOUCH CONTROL, L.AK.ER.S.        
  L00656-001  ASSY, TOUCHPAD BD L.A.K.E.R.S. NEW 

PC Board 

-N/A-   924308-001  MOTHERBOARD UMA i5-7200U       
-N/A-   924308-601  MOTHERBOARD UMA i5-7200U WIN 

Lots of "jargon":

* PCBA - Printed Circuit Board Assembly

* SD ---  a circuit board for the 'SD' format of memory-cards often found in digital cameras

* N/A  -- Not Available

* ASSY - Assembly

* L.A.K.E.R.S. - The name of a professional basketball team based in Los Angeles ?!

What I cannot interpret is whether any of those PCBA components include the ON/OFF button.

It is somewhat "usual" for the ON/OFF button to be a separate component, with wires from it connecting to the motherboard, instead of the button being directly-connected to the motherboard.

Compare to the ignition-key for your automobile -- it too is "remote" from the engine.