Gypsy2002 Tutor
Tutor
17 1 1
Message 1 of 7
206
Flag Post

Upgrade RAM for Pavillion x360

Pavillion x360 m3-u001dx
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I currently have 6 GB of RAM in my Pavillion x360 m3-u001dx but read it can be upgraded up to 12GB.  I have read other posts and it seems not that difficult to do. Can anyone please tell me if that is possible with this unit and what kind of parts I would need. 

 

Thank you for your time.

 

Product name:HP Pavilion x360 m3 Convertible

6 REPLIES
Provost Provost
Provost
20878 2715 6809
Message 2 of 7
197
Flag Post

Upgrade RAM for Pavillion x360

@Gypsy2002

 

Your manual says up to 16GB.

 

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c05087828

 

Page 1.

 

REO

****Click the Blue thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****

Microsoft Registered Refurbisher and Registered Microsoft Partner
Reply
0 Kudos
Provost Provost
Provost
70645 8498 18267
Message 3 of 7
194
Flag Post

Upgrade RAM for Pavillion x360

Hi,

 

Welcome to HP Support Forum. The Manual says

 

Support DDR4–2133 Dual Channel
Supports up to 16–GB maximum on–board system memory

DDR4–2133 Dual Channel Support

● 16384 MB (8192 MB × 2 pieces)

● 12288 MB (8192 MB + 4096 MB)

● 8192 MB (4096 MB × 2 pieces)

● 8192 MB (8192 MB × 1)

● 6144 MB (2048 MB + 4096 MB)

● 4096 MB (4096 MB × 1)

 

On-board normally means soldered to the motherboard. Sounds not easy.

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Reply
0 Kudos
Provost Provost
Provost
20878 2715 6809
Message 4 of 7
188
Flag Post

Upgrade RAM for Pavillion x360

@Gypsy2002

 

Not that easy to upgrade.

 

HP Pavilion m3-u000 x360 Convertible PC - FRU Remove/Replace Videos

 

https://h20574.www2.hp.com/results.htm?SID=10862152&MEID=D7B5C081-5765-4953-A5BD-20BD30A5E216

 

Click on Memory Modules.

 

REO

****Click the Blue thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****

Microsoft Registered Refurbisher and Registered Microsoft Partner
Reply
0 Kudos
Gypsy2002 Tutor
Tutor
17 1 1
Message 5 of 7
187
Flag Post

Upgrade RAM for Pavillion x360

Sorry, my bad. I meant to say upgradeable to 16GB not 12GB.  I was under the impression you can just replce the memory modules without having to solder anything. Will have to look into that one. 

Reply
0 Kudos
Provost Provost
Provost
20878 2715 6809
Message 6 of 7
173
Flag Post

Upgrade RAM for Pavillion x360

@Gypsy2002

 

Click on my link above.

 

Then click on Memory Modules.

 

REO

****Click the Blue thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****

Microsoft Registered Refurbisher and Registered Microsoft Partner
Reply
0 Kudos
Gypsy2002 Tutor
Tutor
17 1 1
Message 7 of 7
169
Flag Post

Upgrade RAM for Pavillion x360

RED,

 

I did. Thank you. Looks doable. I appreciate your time. Don't know if I will do it myself yet. 

 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation