Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-13-2013
Message 1 of 3 (124 Views)

memory upgrade for HP G62 107-SA Notebook PC

[ Edited ]
Product Name: HP G62 107-SA
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

I may sound silly and sorry for bad english, I will appreciate if anyone can help me
I want to update Memory in my HP G62 107-SA Notebook PC
Recenty i bought Kingston 8 GB RAM 1600MHZ PC3L - KVR16LS118   1.35V Non-ECC CL11 SODIMM, but It didn't work, after upgrade i wasn't even able to boot either in linux or in windows, I don't know what happened so I put back the memory came with my Notebook. The memory manufacturer said it is compatible with my HP G62 107-SA Notebook PC.
Is this type of memory is really compatible with my Notebook? If not then which type of Memory I may require?

Reply
0 Kudos
Teacher
Posts: 72
Member Since: ‎09-26-2016
Message 2 of 3 (89 Views)

Re: memory upgrade for HP G62 107-SA Notebook PC

Hi , 

 

 

Please check the specification of the unit below :

 

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?docId=emr_na-c02031742

 

I see that it supports up to 8 GB DDR3 memory

 

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c02542455

 

Kindly check the compatibility at page number 11 

 

Product description-1

 

Memory 2 customer-accessible/upgradable SODIMM slots 

Supports dual-channel memory DDR3, 1066 MHz

Supports up to 8 GB of system memory

Supports the following configurations:

■ 4096 MB total system memory (2048 × 2) 

■ 3072 MB total system memory (2048 × 1 + 1024 × 1)

 

I am an HP Employee

Please click “Accept as Solution” on the post that solves your issue to help others find the same solution.
Click the “Thumbs Up” to say “Thanks” for helping!

 

 

Provost
Posts: 29,126
Member Since: ‎11-12-2008
Message 3 of 3 (80 Views)

Re: memory upgrade for HP G62 107-SA Notebook PC

Simply put, your laptop will not work with that memory. The module is too big. It can only accept single modules up to 4 gigs in capacity and the 1600 speed is too fast and the voltage is off, too. You need older, smaller, slower memory. 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation