Student
1 0 0 0
Message 1 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended

301 hard drive failure for 8470w Laptop

EliteBook 8470w
Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

I started system the other day and got the 301 imminet Hard Drave Failure error. I started copying some of the fails and it

kept locking up. I need to just make and image backup and give the system back to out IT department for recycling, it's going out of warranty and we are moving from Windows 7 to Windows 10 and have new laptops already.

I am a developer and need to get a backup Image for futre reference to settings and other items I have modified for this system.

How can I get it to create an image backup? I need to know if there are any tricks to make it stay alive long enough to make the image.

Please advise.

4 REPLIES 4
Teacher Teacher
Teacher
148 144 9 23
Message 2 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hi,

The error may indicate that your Hard Drive is failing and needs to be replaced.

First of all, remove and then reconnect the Hard Drive - the procedure is described starting onPage 54 of your Maintenance & Service Guide.

Next, tap away at f10 as you start the notebook to enter the bios menu.  Under the Advanced or Diagnostic tab you should find the facility to run a test on the Hard Drive.  Post back with the details of any error messages.

Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
0 Kudos
Professor Professor
Professor
1,476 1,392 140 899
Message 3 of 5
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hey jmele,

It sounds like it might be too late.  Sometimes the hard drive will still work even after the error messages but other times it won't.

There are business that offer services that can recover files from failed drives but they can be costly.  I recommend you keep trying to copy your important files as frustrating as that can be.

good luck - Wes

I am an HP employee.
0 Kudos
Teacher Teacher
Teacher