Having trouble signing in? Try this!
Post new question
Question

Tutor
Message 1 of 11 (355 Views)

Hard drive failing on HP 15-r063tu Notebook

Product Name: HP 15-r063tu Notebook
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (64-bit)

Hi,

I have been using my HP 15-r063tu Notebook for about 16 months. Recently, it has started behaving erratically, and on diagnosis I found that the hard drive is failing (Short DST Fails, and dozens of Disk Errors - Event ID 7, in Event Viewer). Hence, as advised by some, incl on this forum, I will get the HDD replaced very soon.

I use the laptop only for office work, like working on MS-Word/Excel/Ppt files, and surf internet using IE, FF, and Chrome with multiple tabs. I have noticed that when I have all browsers open with many tabs, and a few Word/Excel files as well, the Task Manager shows memory usage over 90%.

So, I seek advise on two counts -

1. Should i upgrade the RAM from 4Gb with another 4Gb to improve performance ?

2. The current HDD is an HGST one (500Gb SATA-III 6Gb/s 5400rpm with 8Mb cache). Will replacing it with a 500Gb SATA-III 6Gb/s 7200rpm with 32Mb cache HDD vastly improve performance or should I settle for a regular SATA-III 5400rpm one ? The cost is almost 50% more for a 7200rpm+32Mb cache one, hence the query.

Thanks.

Ramesh

0 Kudos
Provost
Message 2 of 11 (341 Views)

Re: Hard drive failing on HP 15-r063tu Notebook

Upgrading the RAM to 8GB on a notebook only used for productivity software doesn't really add enough value. 4GB is enough.

Once you have replaced the hard disk ,then will be the time to see if having multiple apps open and browser with many tabs makes a difference in performance. Your notebook has an Intel i3 processor so it is not a performance notebook.