Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
15-bw011dx
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I recently got a used 15-bw011dx; fully restored it, migrated to a 500GB Samsung EVO SSD and installed new Crucial memory (2x8GB). Yep, it's flying. So, I'm still learning stuff about this machine and it doesn't have the usual turn-off-display function key.

How do you turn off the display without activating sleep? Is there a key combination or an easy setting...?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

@JulioBro,

Welcome to the HP Support Community!

I reviewed your post and I understand that you want to know how to turn off the display without turning on the sleep option.

Don’t worry, I assure you I will try my best to get this sorted.

Follow the below steps to turn off the screen automatically after a specified period of inactivity.

1. Press the Windows logo key + I to open the Settings app, then click System.

2. Select Power & sleep on the left side. Under the Screen section on the right side, you can set Windows 10 to automatically turn off display after 5 or 10 minutes of inactivity.

If your computer has a battery, the system will allow you to separately set a period of time for the screen turn off action on battery.

Let me know how it goes and you have a great day!