laparin Honor Student
Honor Student
3 0 0
Message 1 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Can I change the NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS with the new one in my HP Pavilion dv6880se laptop?

Hi,

It looks like there is some problem with the graphic card in my laptop.

Can I replace or change the NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS with the new one in my HP Pavilion dv6880se laptop?

Will appreciate someone's help here to resolve this issue.

Thanks

laparin

7 REPLIES
Master's Graduate Master's Graduate
Master's Graduate
410 45 84
Message 2 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Can I change the NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS with the new one in my HP Pavilion dv6880se laptop?

Hi Laparin,

The service guide I have on this unit if you have a HP Pavilion dv6880se Influx Special Edition Entertainment. If you don't have this unit please provide me a full P/N number so I can find the unit.

But if you own this unit. you won't be able to replace the graphic card

Zincas
I am an HP notebook/printer technician.

Please click “Accept as Solution ” on the post that solves your issue to help others find the solution.
Click the Thumbs Up on the left to say “Thanks” for helping!
0 Kudos
laparin Honor Student
Honor Student
3 0 0
Message 3 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Thanks a lot Zincas for your quick reply.

I have HP Pavilion dv6880se Influx Special Edition Entertainment Notebook PC.

Your reply doesn't sound positive. You said I wont be able to replace the graphic card i.e. NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS.

What is the best option available for me so that I can start using my laptop again? Hope there is a solution exists for this problem. Will appreciate help in this situation.

Thanks

laparin 

0 Kudos
Master's Graduate
410 45 84
Message 4 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hi,

The problem with this model is the graphic card and motherboard are 1 part together. So if the graphic card is dead you will need to replace the motherboard to.

I'm sorry to tell you that.

Zincas