dadaoo7 Honor Student
Honor Student
2 1 0 0
Message 1 of 4
Flag Post
HP Recommended

slow download speed on new laptop (inspite good connection)

hp 17-x014nm
Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

Hi,

I have just bought new hp notebook 17-x014nm (i3). It was free dos so I installed win7 64bit. Friend of mine (since I'm an amateur) installed bunch of drivers and it all seemed ok (except problems with spontaneous changing display graphics, I was told because it has AMD & Intel graphics, or something like that... but he fixed it)

Now I see that wifi connection is extremely slow - when I try to download it's 70/80 kbps, although signal quality is excellent and speed is reported 48 Mbps. I tried it on other network, it's the same. And this new laptop (8GB RAM, 256 SSD...) is supposed to be much better then the old one, but the old one was much faster. Could it be something with wifi driver? Or any other idea how to fix this, please?

3 REPLIES 3
HP Support Agent
HP Support Agent
19284 19242 1254 2019
Message 2 of 4
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hi @dadaoo7,

Thank you for showing your interest in HP Support Forums. It is a great place to find the help you need, from other users, HP experts, and other support personnel. For you to have the best experience on the HP forum, you could also visit our HP Forums Guide for the First Time Here? Learn How to Post and More.

I understand you are having slow internet connection on your new HP notebook. Don't worry as I have a few steps to help you get through this concern,

To provide you with an accurate solution, I'll need a few more details:

Have you tried updating the drivers?

The compatibility of your router with the wireless card,

If the wireless card is 1x1: supports 2.4ghz and below - slow connection and download/upload speed,

If it's 2x2 or more: support 5ghz and above - Fast connected and speed.

Here are your Product specifications: Click here for details.