Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Message 1 of 11 (7,027 Views)

Blink code 1 question

My girlfriend's pavilion dv4-1117nr stopped working. I kept telling her no to leave the computer on her bed. She didn't listen. The numlock and capslock lights were blinking once every 2 or 3 seconds. I know already it's a CPU not funtional. Since it's just CPU failure, will the cpu replacement solve the problem? Or are there other things related to it that might be broken as well?
0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 10,924
Member Since: ‎01-31-2009
Message 2 of 11 (7,014 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

Hi,

Here are informations about this situation and yes replacement of CPU will solve this issue.

** Say thanks by clicking the "Thumb up" icon below. **

** Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with "Accept as Solution" if it solves your issue. **
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Message 3 of 11 (7,008 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

I found the page with error codes explenation. That's how I know it's a CPU failure. Has it happend to you as well? I want to get a new processor but I'm still afraid that there might be something else broken preventing computer from working. I wish i could test a working processor on it but once i get one i cannot return it. Suppose the mainboard is broken. Buying a new CPU would be pretty much useless.
Provost
Posts: 10,924
Member Since: ‎01-31-2009
Message 4 of 11 (6,995 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

It's only CPU. For problem with motherboard is code 5.
** Say thanks by clicking the "Thumb up" icon below. **

** Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with "Accept as Solution" if it solves your issue. **
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-10-2010
Message 5 of 11 (6,401 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

            I HAVE  SAME PROBLEM WITH MY HP DV5-1111EA:LEDS BLINKING CODE 1 ,BUT IS CORRECT:CPU IS FAULTY?BECAUSE I WISH TO BUY NEW CPU.

             (SOMETIMES MY LAPTOP BOOT UP OK, NO ERROR,ALL IT'S OK ,THEN FREEZE).THANKS.

Provost
Posts: 10,924
Member Since: ‎01-31-2009
Message 6 of 11 (6,383 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

@klint18

 

Hi,

Check below document:

Blank Screen LED Error Codes

** Say thanks by clicking the "Thumb up" icon below. **

** Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with "Accept as Solution" if it solves your issue. **
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-10-2010
Message 7 of 11 (6,376 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

      HI,

 WHY SOMETIMES MY LAPTOP IS OK?

(SOMETIMES 20-30 MINUTES  OR FEW DAYS).THANKS.

Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-10-2010
Message 8 of 11 (6,305 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

        HI,

 

  THIS PROCESSOR AMD ATHLON MOBILE TK-53 IS COMPATIBLE WITH MY LAPTOP HP DV5-1111EA?

        THANKS.

Provost
Posts: 10,924
Member Since: ‎01-31-2009
Message 9 of 11 (6,288 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

@klint18

 

According to service documentation for dv5-1000 series models (which You may find here) below processors are compatible with this product:

 

  • AMD Turion™ Ultra Dual-Core 35W ZM-86 2.40-GHz with 2-MB L2 cache

 

  • AMD Turion Ultra Dual-Core 35W ZM-82 2.20-GHz, with 2-MB L2 cache

 

  • AMD Turion Ultra Dual-Core 35W ZM-80 2.10-GHz, with 2-MB L2 cache

 

  • AMD Turion Dual-Core 35W RM-70 2.00-GHz with 1-MB L2 cache

 

  • AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core 35W QL-60 1.90-GHz with 1-MB L2 cache
** Say thanks by clicking the "Thumb up" icon below. **

** Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with "Accept as Solution" if it solves your issue. **
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎10-13-2010
Message 10 of 11 (5,907 Views)

Re: Blink code 1 question

Did you get this sorted with the new CPU?

I have same issue with 2 blink codes. I replaced Motherboard and still the same. It had origianlly 3 blinks then changed to 2 blinks. This means its corrupt Bios according to HP Support Site. I took out cmos battery to reset bios to no avail. There is no display either on laptop lcd or ext display so i cannot get into bios.

Anyone have any issues.

Thanks to anyone in advance

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation