Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎04-23-2014
Message 1 of 7 (8,233 Views)

Can you install Windows 7 pro on the Split x2

Looking at buying a split x2, but I have to have windows 7 for software compatability, will win 7 (win 7 pro) work on the split x2 - are all the drivers available for windows 7?

If yes, are there any tricks to keeping the install size to a minimum?

0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 9,483
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 2 of 7 (8,219 Views)

Re: Can you install Windows 7 pro on the Split x2

[ Edited ]

I have an HP 13 Split x2 loaner that I installed Windows 7 on. The process isn't that difficult but can present challenges to those unfamiliar with EFI/UEFI, GPT, Legacy Support, Secure Boot, etc. If you find yourself having troubles installing Windows 7, post back with a detailed description of the issue.

 

****Disclaimer*****

HP doesn't recommend the installation of Windows 7 on a computer shipped with Windows 8, nor will it support the installation of Windows 7. HP will not provide Windows 7 drivers and suitable drivers may not be available for the hardware in the computer. Also, Windows 7 may not support some of the hardware or software features designed for the computer.

 

Make sure you create your HP Recovery Discs or USB Flash Recovery media before modifying or changing ANYTHING.

 

You will need to DISABLE "Secure Boot" and maybe ENABLE "Legacy Support" in the "BIOS Secure Boot configuration" on the settings page shown below, before you can attempt to install Windows 7;

 

 

or

 

Select Enabled

 

Additionally, as the hard drive may be partitioned as GPT, you may have to boot the computer using the "UEFI - CD/DVD drive" or "UEFI - USB Flash drive" options in the "F9" boot menu. If "UEFI - CD/DVD drive",  "UEFI - USB Flash drive" or something to that effect doesn't exist in the boot menu, please post a screen shot and/or descibe the listed boot options.

 

I suggest using Windows 7 SP1 for the best installation experience. If you need Windows SP1, please see "How to Install Windows 7 Without the Disc" to download and create your own Windows 7 SP1 disc. If the DVD refuses to boot as UEFI, you may need to use a USB Flash drive (may require DISABLING "Fast Boot" in the BIOS) as the installation media. Please download the Windows 7 USB/DVD download tool to create a Windows 7 SP1 USB Flash drive. Please note that some computers may not recognize a valid UEFI enabled USB Flash drive if it is formatted as NTFS and may require a FAT32 formatted USB Flash drive. You should be able to make a FAT32 formatted Windows 7 installation USB Flash drive using RufusUNetbootin, Universal USB Installer, or WiNToBootic. I like Rufus, as it has options for "GPT partition scheme for UEFI computer" and "FAT32".

  

Please use the following Windows 7 driver;

 

1) Intel Chipset Installation Utility and Driver

2) Intel Management Engine Interface (MEI) Driver

3) Intel USB 3.0 Host Controller Driver

4) Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver

5) Intel High-Definition (HD) Graphics Driver

6) Intel® PROSet/Wireless Software and Drivers for Windows 7*

7) Intel® PROSet/Wireless Software for Bluetooth® technology for Windows 7*

8) Realtek Card Reader Driver

9) Synaptics TouchPad Driver

10) IDT High-Definition (HD) Audio Driver

 

Install all Microsoft .NET Framework updates from Windows Update, then install the Intel Smart Connect Technology Driver.

 

After installing the above recommended drivers, please post the Windows Device Manager's "Hardware Ids" (just the string of text, please) for all remaining missing or unknown devices.

 

If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

 

Please click the White KUDOS "Thumbs Up" to show your appreciation

Frank

***** Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping *****
***** Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my help solved your issue *****
***** This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP *****

HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP ENVY x360 m6-w103dx - Windows 10, 8GB RAM, Intel HD 520
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎04-23-2014
Message 3 of 7 (8,197 Views)

Re: Can you install Windows 7 pro on the Split x2

Wow!

I've never had such a comprehensive answer on a help forum before.

I haven't bought the split yet so I'll have to get back to you if & when I have a problem.

You say you have installed w7 on the split, but how well did it work - any problems with unsupported hardware? Touchscreen issues?

Provost
Posts: 9,483
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 4 of 7 (8,191 Views)

Re: Can you install Windows 7 pro on the Split x2

I have had no issues and no unsupported hardware... except for the "proximity sensor", and I downloaded that from the Microsoft Update Catalog. May have come up on Windows Update but failed to install... Your mileage may vary. No TouchScreen issues... no need to load a driver... it just works.

 

If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

 

Please click the White KUDOS "Thumbs Up" to show your appreciation

Frank

***** Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping *****
***** Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my help solved your issue *****
***** This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP *****

HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP ENVY x360 m6-w103dx - Windows 10, 8GB RAM, Intel HD 520
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎07-14-2014
Message 5 of 7 (7,947 Views)

Re: Can you install Windows 7 pro on the Split x2

Great write-up, thank you.  Followed it all the way through the install of Home Premium 64-bit.  I did notice that all of the drivers you listed were 64-bit, so anyone else following this guide should make sure they're installing the 64-bit version of Win7.

 

I did disable Secure Boot and enable Legacy Boot as described, and the external DVD drive had no problem booting the installation disc via UEFI.  The installation did complain about the hard drive being GPT and said I should read some MS website about it, but I clicked OK and everything went fine.

 

The HP driver you listed said something about incompatible hardware.  I even tried the Win8.1 driver from HP's site with no luck.  I had better results with the Graphics driver directly from Intel's site.  

 

Everything else worked as described, including the proximity sensor being the last hold-out on installing the driver up until the very end.  It did end up installing itself during a Windows Update cycle though.  Thanks again for the comprehensive duie and both Thanks buttons hit!

Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-04-2014
Message 6 of 7 (7,462 Views)

Re: Can you install Windows 7 pro on the Split x2

Does anyone know if this will work on the HP Pavilion x2?

Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-19-2014
Message 7 of 7 (6,991 Views)

Re: Can you install Windows 7 pro on the Split x2

i did exactly what you said and i came actross an error with the download

connected a usb cd drive and it started up looked promising and even got past the windows load screen but then went black, then blue with the text:

 

Aproblem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage

to your computer.

 

if this is the first time you've seen this stop errot screen,

restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow

these steps:

 

the BIOS in this system is not fully ACPI compliant. Please contact you

system vendor for an update BIOS.

 

Technical information:

 

*** STOP: 0x000000A5 (0x00000008, 0x8FA00510, 0x8F9F9DEC, 0x00000000)

 

 

 

I would upgrade the bios but it looks to be running F.13 like your pictures show and i dont want to upgrade if its only going to hinder this. let me know when you get a chance and if i should just update the BIOS.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation