cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ArchivedThis topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
KVE
Level 1
4 3 1 0
Message 1 of 10
Flag Post

Solved!

*!NOT your usual Vista Password Problem - Incorrect Password every time

HP Recommended

Dear Experts and Gurus,

I have been using Windows for many years but I have never come across a problem like this.

I use an HP Pavillion dv6675us notebook and Windows Vista Ultimate x64. I am not an expert but I am reasonably proficient.

Here are the symptoms and some workarounds I have tried to no avail.

1. My User account has a password.  The Password has NOT been changed.  Or the password has JUST been changed and I KNOW what it is. Suddenly, todayafter logging out last night and restarting computer today, I CANNOT log in again. Iget the usual Password incorrect message. Vista Ultimate even showsthe password hint. Yet it will not take the "correct" password.

2. The only way to login is to go into SAFE MODE and enter using my password. So the same password works in SAFE MODE, but it does not work in Normal Mode. Even changing the password does not enable me to login in Normal mode.

The process does not even work if I blank the password via SAFE MODE and try and login via Windows Normal mode.

3. In SAFE Mode I created a new account without a password (blank) but that does not work either.

3a. If I go and create NEW USER account (under SAFE MODE and then try normal login) . If the NEW USER has BLANK password it still does not go past the welcome screen to login into windows. If the New User has a password, windows does NOT recognize the password again.

4. I have tried to click the blue accessibility button on the welcome screen and select type without the keyboard. Then, I used the onscreen keyboard to type the password. This did not work either.