Information
    Fix Windows 10 Update Issues

Resolve Windows 10 or update issues on HP computer or printer– Click Here

• post a message
    Information
    Fix Windows 10 Update Issues

Resolve Windows 10 or update issues on HP computer or printer– Click Here

• post a message
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
Highlighted
3 2 0 0
Message 1 of 5
Flag Post

No CD provided: How do I Re-Install Win 7 on Pavilion dv7 6c43cl

HP Recommended
HP Pavilion dv7 6c43cl
Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

Greetings,
Newbie here on the HP forums.

My hard drive crashed (HP Pavilion dv7computer purchased at Costco on Feb. 19, 2012; now out of warranty).  I replaced crashed hard drive with SSD (solid state hard drive).  

Windows 7 was pre-installed on the original HD. However, no CD came with the computer.  Win 7 and user manual were loaded on the original HD which crashed and I cannot access. 
I went to a local computer repair place recommended by a friend, which sold me the new SSD hard drive and provided a copy of Win 7 Professional which  I installed using the genuine original Win 7 product key on my computer.  
The "new" Win 7 Pro loaded OK.  However, all the graphics and appearances of the windows content is distorted (wider) and operates differently than the original Win 7 that came with the computer.  This is a crucial element, since I work with photo editing for my professional photography business (just starting out) and the images must appear without distortion.