cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Note on archived topics.

This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
Gar-Dog
Level 1
12 5 0 1
Message 1 of 10
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Pavilion dm4-3050us Wifi Off after updating BIOS

I have a Pavilion dm4-3050us that i have been running Windows 8 on for a few months WITHOUT problems.  Today I logged onto the HP site to see if there were any updated drivers.   I had it scan my system and it IDed a few programs and the BIOS.   After I updated the BIOS--which went without a problem or error--- my WiFi does not work.  It is shown as OFF in Windows 8 Network section.  

I dug around and found that a wifi button driver needed updating.... I did that.  Now the WiFi button toggles AIRPLANE Mode but des not affect the WiFI from being turned on.  The light on the key is white---always white---even in Air plane mode (if that matters).

Any ides?  

UPDATE---

I managed to get the Netword adapter to work by flashing the BIOS to the oldest one listed.  

0 Kudos
9 REPLIES 9
Level 8
2,472 2,431 76 314
Message 2 of 10
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hello Gar-Dog,

Do you know what version BIOS update caused the problem?

Signature
↙-----------How do I give Kudos?| How do I mark a post as Solved? ----------------↓

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Gar-Dog
Level 1
12 5 0 1
Message 3 of 10
Flag Post
HP Recommended

The latest BIOS and the second newest BIOS screwed up the Wifi---  

2013-02-07 , Version:F.0C, 4.75M

F.0B

11-2012

I did not go through all of them--  I next tried the the OLDest on the site and that "fixed" the problem with the WiFi showing up as OFF and not working.

The Oldest was still 1 version newer than my original.

F.06 12-2011 4.75M

Level 8
2,472 2,431 76 314
Message 4 of 10
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Thanks for the information,