cancel

Note on archived topics.

This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
LiquidPulse Honor Student
Honor Student
4 3 0 0
Message 1 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Sound Stuttering and DPC Latency (Pavilion Dv7)

I bought a refurbished Dv7, 

"CPU: 1.60 GHz Intel Core i7-720QM 

Memory: 4 GB DDR3 (2 x 2048 MB)

Video Graphics:ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 Graphics 2714 MB total graphics memory with 1 GB DDR3 dedicated

Display: 43.9 cm (17.3") diagonal HD+ High-Definition LED HP BrightView Display (1600 x 900

)Hard Drive: 500 GB SATA Hard Disk Drive 7200 rpm"

Perfect as I am a freelance Adobe Flash Designer and I Produce music on Abelton Live and use my laptop to mix as well! 

With a spec like that you would think i would be fine running all my applications! To date my system has trouble running iTunes, so I have spent the last 2 days solid finding a solution to my problem - turns out its a DPC Latency issue crushing my system performance! Sounds like my audio card is stuttering and system is locking up.

I have tried everything, when by chance i was sat in the kitchen with my laptop unplugged and I noticed I’m plying music and running Ableton Live and it was running incredibly fast and no stuttering, and it clicked so i went back and plugged in my laptop and within a few seconds my stuttering began again so i tested vigorously by running 7 programs without the laptop being plugged in and just off the battery no problems!

So i have ordered a new AC Adaptor hopefully that will work.  It sounds like some major interference... if anyone is suffering this issue unplug your laptop and test out my theory and let me know!

0 Kudos
7 REPLIES 7
SquirrelAbuser Honor Student
Honor Student
3 3 0 0
Message 2 of 8
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hi there,