cancel

Note on archived topics.

This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
jjunkman Honor Student
Honor Student
4 2 0 0
Message 1 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Making a laptop work with a HP J6480 printer wirelessly

I purchased an HP J6480 All-in-one printer and can not figure out how to get my wife's HP laptop to work with the printer wirelessly.  I'm not very good with this wireless stuff.  Anyway, I have an Apple imac and the printer is hooked up to it via Ethernet cable.  Everything works fine there.  I bought the printer with wireless capabilities so the wife (upstairs) could print on my printer (J6480 which is downstairs) using her laptop.  Her laptop accesses the web via my wireless router.  What do I have to do to get her computer to be able to print on my printer wirelessly?  Thanks in advance and please don't be too hard on an old boy.

0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
Retired
Retired
20,508 20,434 1,425 4,862
Message 2 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

You need to connect your printer to your router so everyone can print to it.

If you can, connect it with an Ethernet cable.  Wired and wireless clients are all treated as equals in the router's world.

Check your manual for how to hook up via Ethernet.

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
0 Kudos
jjunkman Honor Student
Honor Student
4 2 0 0
Message 3 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended