Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎04-14-2009
Message 1 of 3 (8,458 Views)
Accepted Solution

Officejet 6310 says "No Scan Options" and there is no DIM

I have an Officejet 6310xi connected by USB to my Dell Computer. I am using Windows XP (with Service Pack 3).

 

I downloaded the basic drivers (no software) from the hp website. I can print and copy on the officejet. When I try to scan it says "No Scan Options." The Digital Imaging Monitor is not visible in the system tray. If I run msconfig the DIM is not in the startup menu, either.

 

When I run the Scan Diagnostic Utility V 1.5, it finds problems with PML service, Registry Mismatch, and HP Digital Imaging Monitor. 

 

When I run "fix," it cannot find C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe. There is no file by that name (hpqtra08.exe) on this computer.

 

While I once had the CD with all the software and drivers, it is not at this location. Should I order another CD or is there another possible solution? I do have Norton 360 running and I gather from reading that this might affect the downloading of the drivers, but I am not savvy enough to know how to temporarily disable firewalls, etc. Which is why the CD solution is appealing to me. Needless to say, a free solution would be even better! Thank you for any help.

0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Officejet 6310 says "No Scan Options" and there is no DIM

You only downloaded basic drivers, I do believe you will need to download Full Feature SW & Drivers for the scanning to work

with link below:

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=mp-42045-1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&os=228&product=1119598

 

Hope it will work..Smiley Happy

View solution in context
Intern
Intern
Posts: 12
Member Since: ‎04-16-2009
Message 2 of 3 (8,417 Views)

Re: Officejet 6310 says "No Scan Options" and there is no DIM

You only downloaded basic drivers, I do believe you will need to download Full Feature SW & Drivers for the scanning to work

with link below:

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=mp-42045-1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&...

 

Hope it will work..Smiley Happy

Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎04-14-2009
Message 3 of 3 (8,384 Views)

Re: Officejet 6310 says "No Scan Options" and there is no DIM

Thanks! I should have known.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation