Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 1 of 8 (808 Views)

all-in-one printer is "offline"

my HP photosmart C3150 all-in-one is connected and works (copies, doesn't print) and when I try to print a document is says that I need to install a printer. But this all-in-one works and is connected, but it says that it is offline. I have tried to "check mark" it under the printer menu but it will not check. Thanks for any help!

0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 20,467
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 2 of 8 (807 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

What operating system?  How is the printer connected?

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 3 of 8 (803 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

I have a HP desktop prod#: kq510aa#aba  &  s/n: mxu8240mt3. the all-in-one is connected with a USM cord connected to the back of the modem ( I think thats what it is called ) and back of the all-in-one printer.

Provost
Posts: 20,467
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 4 of 8 (802 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

What version of Windows (XP, Vista or Windows 7)?

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 5 of 8 (799 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

oh, sorry, it is a windows xp home edition

Provost
Posts: 20,467
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 6 of 8 (795 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

OK, in Control Panel > Printers, right click the printer and select "Use Printer Online".

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 7 of 8 (793 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

I tried that, but it didn't work. In the control panel, it says that the printer is online and ready but when I try to print it says "no printer can be found. please add a printer, then try printing again."

Provost
Posts: 20,467
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 8 of 8 (778 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

OK, delete the printer in Control Panel by clicking it once and then hitting the delete key on your keyboard.

 

Now, on the same screen, click Add a Printer > Add a Local USB printer and follow the prompts.

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation